Record Number Teams Going to HP Championships

July 16, 2009, 10:56 p.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: 719-228-6800

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (July 16, 2009) - The 2009 USA Volleyball High Performance Championship will take place at the Fort Lauderdale/Broward County Convention Center July 22-26 in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

The USA Volleyball High Performance Championships, featuring a tournament-record 92 teams for both boys’ and girls’ championship flights, combines the best teams from USAV High Performance Pipeline teams, USAV Region High Performance Teams and international squads. The event will crown champions in the Women’s International Junior Division, Girls’ International Youth Division, Girls’ National Youth Division, Girls’ National Select Division, Boys’ International Youth Division and Boys’ National Youth/Select Division.

Finals for the International Divisions and Boys’ National Youth/Select Division will be on July 25, while the championship match for the other six divisions will be the morning of July 26.

The USA Volleyball High Performance pipeline has 27 teams competing in the championship event. In addition to the competition itself, the participating USAV pipeline players are holding training camps in Fort Lauderdale from July 16 to July 21.

Tayyiba Haneef-Park (Laguna Hills, Calif.), a two-time Olympian for the U.S. Women’s National Team, will serve as the keynote speaker at the tournament banquet on July 21 at 7 p.m. ET. Haneef-Park played a key role in the U.S. winning the silver medal at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.

Half of USA Volleyball’s 40 regions are sending Regional High Performance Teams to compete in the 2009 USA Volleyball High Performance Championships. Among the 20 USAV Regions participating are Aloha Region, Arizona Region, Badger Region, Carolina Region, Chesapeake Region, Florida Region, Garden Empire Region, Gulf Coast Region, Intermountain Region, Iowa Region, Iroquois Empire Region, Keystone Region, Lakeshore Region, Lone Star Region, Northern California Region, Ohio Valley Region, Oklahoma Region, Puget Sound Region, Southern California Region and Sun Country Region.

Four countries outside the United States are sending teams to compete in the USA Volleyball High Performance Championships including Dominican Republic, Canada (province teams of Nova Scotia, Alberta, Manitoba competing), Italy and Puerto Rico.

The USA Volleyball High Performance Championships features an international theme with some variations of FIVB rules. Matches are best-of-five sets format with most teams playing eight matches during the event. The tournament will utilize some new FIVB rules such as the primary and secondary libero. In addition, the FIVB experimental rule of six total subs per set but not limiting a player to one entry will be used.

The Fort Lauderdale Convention Center has hosted the USA Volleyball High Performance Championships twice before – 2006 and 2007. This year’s event is being hosted locally by the Joseph Volleyball Camps, Inc. and the Florida Region.

For more information, click here.

USA Volleyball High Performance Championships Participating Teams

Women’s International Junior (Born 1989 and after): 1. Dominican Republic, 2. Florida Region, 3. Iowa Region, 4. Iroquois Empire Region A, 5. Nova Scotia, 6. Puerto Rico, 7. Team Alberta, 8. Team Manitoba, 9. USA Junior Red, 10. USA Select Red, 11. USA Youth Blue, 12. USA Youth Red, 13. USA Youth White, 14. Volleyro Italy.

Girls’ International Youth (Born in 1992 and after): 1. Aloha Region, 2. Arizona Region, 3. Badger Region, 4. Florida Region Red, 5. Intermountain Region Red, 6. Iowa Region, 7. Iroquois Empire Region, 8. Lone Star Region, 9. Northern California Region Red, 10. Ohio Valley Region, 11. Puget Sound Region, 12. Southern California Region Blue, 13. Southern California Region Red, 14. USA Select Blue, 15. USA Select Gold, 16. USA Select Silver, 17. USA Select White, 18. Volleyro Italy.

Girls’ National Youth (Born in 1992 and after): 1. Aloha Region, 2. Carolina Region, 3. Chesapeake Region, 4. Florida Region Blue, 5. Garden Empire Region, 6. Keystone Region, 7. Lakeshore Region, 8. Northern California Region White, 9. Oklahoma Region, 10. Puerto Rico, 11. Sun Country Region, 12. USA Continental Select Red, 13. USA Continental Youth Red, 14. USA Continental Youth White.

Girls’ National Select (Born in 1994 and after): 1. Aloha Region, 2. Arizona Region, 3. Badger Region, 4. Carolina Region, 5. Chesapeake Region, 6. Florida Region Red, 7. Florida Region Blue, 8. Garden Empire Region, 9. Gulf Coast Region, 10. Intermountain Region, 11. Iowa Region, 12. Keystone Region, 13. Lakeshore Region, 14. Lone Star Region Blue, 15. Lone Star Region Red, 16. Northern California Region Red, 17. Northern California Region White, 18. Ohio Valley Region, 19. Oklahoma Region, 20. Puget Sound Region, 21. Southern California Region Blue, 22. Southern California Region Red, 23. USA Continental Select Blue, 24. USA Continental Select White.

Boys’ International Youth (Born in 1990 and after): 1. Aloha Region, 2. Florida Region, 3. Northern California Region, 4. Ohio Valley Region, 5. Puerto Rico, 6. USA Continental Youth Red, 7. USA Continental Youth White, 8. USA Continental Youth Blue, 9. USA Select Red, 10. USA Youth Blue, 11. USA Youth Red, 12. USA Youth White.

Boys’ National Youth/Select (Born in 1991 and after): 1. Aloha Region, 2. Badger Region, 3. Carolina Region, 4. Florida Region, 5. USA Continental Select Red, 6. USA Continental Select White, 7. USA Select Blue, 8. USA Select Gold, 9. USA Select Silver, 10. USA Select White.