USAV Honors Women's Sitting Team

Jan. 22, 2009, 6:54 p.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: (719) 228-6800       

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Jan. 22, 2009) – USA Volleyball has announced that the U.S. Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team has been named its Paralympic Team of the Year for 2008.

The U.S. Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team won the silver medal at the 2008 Paralympic Games in Beijing, defeating defending silver medalist Netherlands in the semifinal before falling to defending champion China in the gold medal match.

The U.S. Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team also Won the bronze medal at the World Organization Volleyball for Disabled (WOVD) Intercontinental Cup in Egypt and went 3-1 against Netherlands in a series of friendly matches in the Chicago area.

The members of the team are Allison Aldrich (Schuyler, Neb.), Heather Erickson (Fayetteville, N.C.), Alex Gouldie (St. Paul, Neb.), Katie Holloway (Lake Stevens, Wash.), SuGui Kriss (Ravena, N.Y.), Hope Lewellen (Palos Park, Ill.), Brenda Maymon (Sellersberg, Ind.), Gina McWilliams (The Colony, Texas), Nichole Millage (Champaign, Ill.), Kari Miller (Washington D.C.) and Lora Webster (Cave Creek, Ariz.).

The team was coached by Mike Hulett (Des Plaines, Ill.) with assistant coaches Denise Van De Walle (Bowling Green, Ohio) and Cara Bartolic (Sartell, Minn.).