Olympians to Attend Boyce Awards Banquet

April 28, 2009, 5:19 p.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: 719-228-6800
E-Mail: bill.kauffman@usav.org

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 28, 2009) – Four-time USA Volleyball Olympians Lloy Ball (Fort Wayne, Ind.) and Danielle Scott-Arruda (Baton Rouge, La.) will take part in festivities surrounding the 64th Annual Dorothy C. Boyce Awards and Recognitions Banquet set for May 21 at the Hilton Minneapolis. The banquet, which recognizes achievements across the sport of volleyball, is presented by Molten and co-sponsored by Mizuno.

The Boyce Banquet, using the theme “Beijing Glory,” will celebrate accomplishments at the 2008 Olympic and Paralympic Games, as well as other annual awards presentations. Scott-Arruda and Ball will represent their respective U.S. Olympic Teams, while the head coaches for the 2008 U.S. Olympic Teams – Hugh McCutcheon (Christchurch, New Zealand) and “Jenny” Lang Ping (Beijing, China) – will take part in the Boyce Moment highlighting Team USA accomplishments at the 2008 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Other 2008 Olympic and Paralympic Games medalists may be added at a later date depending on availability.

The U.S. captured gold medals in both men’s and women’s beach volleyball, as well as the men’s indoor competition at the 2008 Olympic Games. The U.S. Women’s Team won the silver medal at the 2008 Olympic Games, while the U.S. Women’s Sitting Team earned the silver medal at the 2008 Paralympic Games.

The Dr. Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award, the highest honor bestowed by USA Volleyball and named in honor of the organization’s second president (1952-55), will cap off the evening of awards. The Frier Award is presented to an individual for long-time, significant service to the sport of volleyball.

Although the honoree is kept secret until the banquet announcement, other Boyce Banquet award recipients are known at this time. USA Volleyball All-Time Great Players to be honored at the Boyce Banquet include Arthur Alper, Fanny Hopeau, Al Kuhn, Marry Perry and Ernie Suwara. USA Volleyball All-Time Great Coaches being recognized will be Larry Bock, Teri Clemens and Sue Gozansky.

Christena Clauss, Cynthia Doyle-Perkins and Sinjin Smith are the three recipients of the 2009 George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award to be presented at the Boyce Banquet. The award, named after the first USAV president (1928-52), honors individuals for significant service rendered to the sport of volleyball for at least 20 years.

The Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award will be bestowed upon Nancy Sommer, Roland Stone (posthumously) and Mario Treibit. The award, named in honor of USAV’s sixth president (1971-79) recognizes individuals for long-term significant contributions to the USA Volleyball referee program.

The Harry E. Wilson Distinguished Service Award, named in honor of the fifth USAV president (1969-71), will be presented to Kerry Klostermann in recognition of his significant contributions to USA Volleyball and impact internationally on the sport.

The Boyce Banquet will also present its North Country Salute recognizing individuals who have made a positive difference in the sport from the host region.

Tickets for the banquet, which starts at 6 p.m. CT, costs $70 per person or $490 for a table of eight. For the RSVP invitation, click here.

A pre-banquet social and USA Volleyball Foundation Silent Auction precedes the banquet from 4:30-5:50 p.m. on May 21. The silent auction will included autographed Olympic Games memorabilia and USA Volleyball apparel available to the highest bidder.

Prior to the silent auction reception and Boyce Banquet, the USA Volleyball Congress will be held on May 21 from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the Hilton Minneapolis. The Congress, which is open to the public, will serve as a vehicle for USA Volleyball to engage its member organizations, with the objective of partnering more effectively in the development and growth of the sport at all levels across all disciplines.

USAV Congress speakers include USA Volleyball CEO Doug Beal presenting “State of the Game” and “A Strategic Vision for USA Volleyball,” U.S. Men’s National Team member Reid Priddy presenting “The Professional World of Volleyball: What it Means to the USA,” USAV Board Junior Development Representative Dave Gentile presenting “Junior Clubs and USA Volleyball,” USAV Board Independent Representative Adam Rymer presenting “Web Site Success” and 1984 Olympic Games Gold medalist and NBC Olympic Games announcer Paul Sunderland presenting “Olympics and USA Volleyball” as the keynote address.

USA Volleyball Congress attendees are asked to RSVP to June Sander at june.sander@usav.org.