NORCECA Announces 2009 Beach Circuit Schedule

Sept. 16, 2008, 12:16 a.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: 719-228-6800

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Sept. 15, 2008) – NORCECA has announced the schedule for its 2009 Beach Volleyball Circuit, which will have 11 stops in eight countries.

U.S. teams have competed on the NORCECA Circuit for the last two seasons and have found success.

The competition in both genders is scheduled to begin in Cayman Islands on March 25-30 and to finish in Nicaragua on Aug. 26-31.

Mexico will have four stops, including Manzanillo, Puerto Vallarta, Pachuca and Veracruz.

The schedule was adopted by the NORCECA Beach Volleyball Commission during its annual meeting in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic last weekend. The meeting was presided over by Cristobal Marte Hoffiz, president of the NORCECA Confederation, and Carlos J. Beltran, president of the Beach Volleyball Commission.

 “The increase of the beach volleyball activities within NORCECA creates new horizons for our confederation and promises a brighter future,” Marte Hoffiz said. “Beach volleyball is generating a great interest from organizers and I can see the sport growing at a high pace in the coming years.”

The Beach Volleyball Commission also decided to create a beach volleyball department.

The NORCECA Web site is

2009 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Circuit:

Cayman Islands (March 25-30)
Guatemala (April 1-6)
Dominican Republic (April 8-13)
Manzanillo, Mexico (May 13-18)
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico (May 20-25)
Pachuca, Mexico (May 27-June 1)
Veracruz, Mexico (June 3-8)
Trinidad & Tobago (June 17-22)
Jamaica (June 24-29)
Toronto, Canada (July 1-6)
Nicaragua (Aug. 26-31)