Gold Medalists Dominate AVP Beach Awards

Oct. 23, 2008, 5:28 p.m. (ET)

Release courtesy of the AVP

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Oct. 23, 2008) - Two-time Olympic gold medalist Misty May-Treanor (Costa Mesa, Calif.) swept the major honors at the AVP beach volleyball tour’s 2008 postseason awards ceremony on Wednesday (Oct. 22), winning the Best Offensive Player, Best Defensive Player (defender) and Most Valuable Player honors while also earning the title of Team of the Year with partner Kerri Walsh (Saratoga, Calif.).

The Team of the Year honor was the sixth straight for May-Treanor and Walsh, who won gold at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing in August. May-Treanor was named the Best Offensive Player for the fifth straight year, earned her fourth consecutive MVP award and captured the Best Defensive Player title for the third time.

On the Men’s side, fellow U.S. gold medalists Phil Dalhausser (Ormond Beach, Fla.) and Todd Rogers (Santa Barbara, Calif.) took home Team of the Year honors for the second consecutive season. Dalhausser once again captured all the key individual awards; he continues his reign as MVP and Best Offensive Player, both titles he was rewarded with in 2007. He also added Best Defensive Player (blocker) to his resume. Rogers shared Best Defensive Player (defender) honors with Nick Lucena. The top offensive award was Dalhausser’s third straight and for Rogers the defensive player of the year award was his fifth in a row.

All the postseason awards were voted on by the players and announced during a ceremony at the Manhattan Beach Marriott hotel in Manhattan Beach, Calif.

Regarded as the most dominant team in the history of the sport, May-Treanor and Walsh set an unprecedented winning streak with 112 match wins in a row and 19 consecutive titles. The golden duo’s record-setting streak lasted more than a year (Aug. 19, 2007- Aug. 31, 2008) and shattered their own previous record marks of 89 straight match wins and 15 straight tournaments, set before the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens. In Beijing, May-Treanor and Walsh didn’t drop a single set en route to the gold medal.

Dalhausser and Rogers continued to improve as both a team and as individuals by winning 11 of the 15 AVP tournaments, one more than the year before. The Santa Barbara-based team dominated on the sand throughout the summer, capturing the AVP Crocs Cup title for a second year in a row, and also dominated on the world’s stage, winning the gold medal in Beijing and completing the sweep of beach volleyball gold medals for the United States. They also captured three of the four FIVB Grand Slam beach events this summer.

Most Improved Player awards went to the co-defensive player of the year Nick Lucena (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) and Olympic beach team member Nicole Branagh (Orinda, Calif.).