Turner, Wacholder Secure Silver Medals on Beach in Poland

June 08, 2008, 1:16 a.m. (ET)

B.J. Evans
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: 719-228-6800
E-Mail: bj.evans@usav.org  

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 7, 2008) – U.S. beach volleyball players Tyra Turner and Rachel Wacholder had the best SWATCH FIVB World Tour finish of careers on Saturday as they took the silver medal at the US$350,000 GE Money Bank Mazury Open in Stare Jablonki, Poland.

Sixth-seeded Turner (Fort Meyers Beach, Fla.) and Wacholder (Laguna Beach, Calif.) advanced to the final with a 21-19, 21-16 win in 46 minutes over Brazil’s 12th-seeded Salgado sisters (Carolina and Maria Clara).

In the final, they ran into Brazil’s second-seeded Shelda Bede and Ana Paula Connelly, who beat them 21-19, 21-16 in 39 minutes before a capacity crowd of more than 4,000 at the Hotel Anders centre court.

Turner and Wacholder shared $19,500 for their best FIVB placement in 12 SWATCH starts along with earning 540 points for second place. They are currently the fourth-ranked U.S. team on the Beijing list with 3,100 points. Misty May-Treanor (Costa Mesa, Calif.) and Kerri Walsh (Santa Clara, Calif.), the reigning Olympic and world champions, have 5,840 points with Nicole Branagh (Orinda, Calif.) and Elaine Youngs (El Toro, Calif.) in second and sixth overall (4,140 points).

Saturday’s finale was the 73rd-time Brazil and the United States have competed for a SWATCH FIVB World Tour women’s gold medal. The Americans have won 43 times after Branagh and Youngs defeated Talita and Renata for the top spot on the Spanish podium last week in Barcelona.

The race for Olympic qualifying points for both the men and women will get serious June 9-15 at the Smart Grand Slam in Berlin, Germany. A victory at a Grand Slam tournament is worth 400 points, as opposed to 300 for an open tournament.

Scheduled to compete are the U.S. women’s teams of May-Treanor/Walsh, Branagh/Youngs, Jen Boss (San Juan Capistrano, Calif.)/April Ross (Costa Mesa, Calif.) and Turner/Wacholder and the U.S. men’s teams of Phil Dalhausser (Ormond Beach, Fla.)/Todd Rogers (Santa Barbara, Calif.), Jake Gibb (Bountiful, Utah)/Sean Rosenthal (Redondo Beach, Calif.), Matt Fuerbringer (Costa Mesa, Calif.)/Casey Jennings (Las Vegas, Nev.), Stein Metzger (Honolulu, Hawai’i)/Mark Williams (Los Angeles, Calif.) and Nick Lucena (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)/Sean Scott (Kailua, Hawai’i).

There is more information on the FIVB beach volleyball site at www.fivb.org/EN/BeachVolleyball/index.asp.