2013 Coach of the Year Nominees

Dec. 17, 2013, 5:18 p.m. (ET)
Each year, USA Team Handball has the opportunity to recognize and put forward one coach in each of the following five categories - Developmental, Doc Counsilman Science/Technology, National, Paralympic and Volunteer - to the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) for recognition. The USOC provides a plaque to the coach in recognition of this award as the NGB (category) Coach of the Year.

Each NGB coach in each of the five categories is then ranked according to the criteria on the applications by an independent panel of coaches/coach educators in order to select the national coach of the year in each category. The USOC recognizes three finalists in each category at the National Coaching Conference held historically in June and the national winners are announced during the USOC Coach of the Year Awards Dinner. USOC hopes to notify finalists in March 2014.

This year, five USATH coaches have been nominated:

National Coach of the Year: Richard Kluz (NYC THC)
Volunteer Coach of the Year: Laszlo Jurak (NYAC), Ross Miner (Illinois State University)
Developmental Coach of the Year: Vanja Telebak (Orlando HC), Robert Michalik (Ocean NJ)

Email voting period will remain open until January 6, 2013 to all interested in casting it in support of their chosen candidates. Those support/popularity votes ought to be emailed to Jon Gomez who will tally them and post results on our website on Monday, January 10, 2013. In turn, USATH selection committee, chaired by USATH CEO, will review all applications, votes received, and will select finalist(s) in each category. You can vote only once but you can support one candidate in each of the five categories if you so choose. Our NGB submission to the USOC is due on January 15, 2013.