USA Team Handball invites 23 athletes to train in Chicago for PATHF tournament

Nov. 07, 2008, 12 a.m. (ET)

Twenty-three athletes have been invited by USA Team Handball to meet Nov. 14 to 20 in Chicago to train and compete for a spot on the women's national team to battle other countries at the Pan American Team Handball Federation Division I tournament.  

Sixteen women will be chosen to play for the women's national team Nov. 22 to 27 in Mexico City.  

"At the end of the week, we will be selecting athletes who are not only in the best physical condition, but those who have the best technical and tactical knowledge of the game," said Marko Brezic, the interim coach appointed to lead the team in Mexico. "We will also be looking for individual improvement."  

The top two finishers of the PATHF Division I tournament will qualify for the Pan American Championships in 2009. So far, the Chile, Mexico and the United States are confirmed to compete in two weeks.  

The U.S. Team Handball Foundation has awarded the women's national team a generous grant to assist the athletes in their journeys to Mexico City this month. USA Team Handball would like to thank the U.S. Team Handball Foundation for its significant funding support in underwriting the team's trip. The U.S. Team Handball Foundation dates back to the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games; the foundation provides support for team handball-related activities around the United States such as clubs, tournaments and programs, among other initiatives.  

Updates on the athletes' training will be posted throughout the camp's duration on

The 23 athletes invited to train in Chicago are:  

1.    Michelle Fratto
2.    Jacque Messel
3.    Erika Woodbury
4.    Farida Abou-zeida
5.    Megan Ballard
6.    Marija Conic      
7.    Anne Coulter
8.    Kathy Darling
9.    Desanka Domjanovic
10. Tomuke Ebuwei
11. Jennifer Farrell
12. Sarah Gascon
13. Jennifer Haubrich
14. Erin Kizer
15. Aida Kulasic                      
16. Lauren Lappin
17. Tabitha Lowey
18. Melanie McCormick
19. Maren McCrary
20. Virginie Poritzky        
21. Jennifer Robertson
22. Nichole Stahovich
23. Amelia Storey