USA Taekwondo 2013 World Cup Team renamed

Nov. 01, 2013, 7:37 p.m. (ET)

USA Taekwondo has revisited the selection process for its 2013 World Cup Team that will travel to Cote D'Ivoire, Africa, for the 2013 World Cup Championships. This was made necessary by the accidental misplacement of several athlete applications that arrived at the USA Taekwondo National Office via fax, but were not discovered until after a list was posted to the USA Taekwondo website on Oct. 31.

The intent of electing qualified athletes for this event is to give our USA athletes the best chance to qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympics by gaining WTF Ranking Points. Since the error was that of our National Office and not that of the athletes, it is only fair to revisit the selection process, which is what has been done. The revised list includes all athletes previously accepted. Additionally, the four missing applicants are added since they meet or exceed the selection criteria as developed and posted. This new list also ensures the participation of our past Olympic medalists, since they remain a great hope for future Olympic medals.

The 2013 World Cup Team Members are as follows:

Women’s Team
Stephanie Beckel  
Charlotte Craig
Simone DeVito  
Lauren Hamon
Talina Le
Samantha Leidel  
Diana Lopez
Tasha Pruter
Sanaz Shahbazi  

Men’s Team
T.J. Curry
Logan Gerick
James Howe
Jaysen Ishida
Terrence Jennings
Steven Lin
Mark Lopez
Steven Lopez
Bernard Posey
Thomas Rahimi