Cuatro: Team USA earns four medals at 2013 Spanish Open

May 03, 2013, 2:41 p.m. (ET)

McPherson takes gold in women's welter, Giuliana Gil earns silver in women's fin; U.S. finishes day with four medals

2012 Olympian and women’s welter weight Paige McPherson earned gold May 4 at the 2013 Spanish Open, leading Team USA’s medal count at the team’s first overseas event of the year. Women’s fin weight Giuliana Gil took silver, while men’s fin weight Logan Gerick and middle weight Jason Neville both took bronze.

The 2013 Spanish Open was the first event under new National Team Head Coach Patrice Remarck.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Final results (as of 4 p.m. EDT/2 p.m. MDT):

Welter Paige McPherson def. Izadi (Iran) 3-1- GOLD
Fin Giuliana Gil lost to Hajer Mustapha (France) 4-0 OT- SILVER
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Gerick, Neville claim first U.S. medals at Spanish Open; earn bronze in men's fin, middle weight semifinal
Gil, McPherson advance to finals

Semifinal results (as of 3:46 p.m. EDT/1:46 p.m. MDT):

Fin Logan Gerick lost to Dhecheshmeh (Iran) 4-5 OT- BRONZE
Fin Giuliana Gil def. Yazici (Turkey) 4-0
Welter Paige McPherson def. Baryshnikova (Russia) 1-0
Middle Jason Neville lost to Ghobadi Oughaz (Iran) 5-0- BRONZE
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Quarterfinal results (as of 3:19 p.m. EDT/1:19 p.m. MDT):

Fin Logan Gerick def. Aliyev (Azerbaijan) 4-0
Fin Giuliana Gil moves on with 4-0 victory
Welter Paige McPherson moves on by WD
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Second round results (as of 12:35 p.m. EDT/10:35 a.m. MDT):

Fin Giuliana Gil def. Bentahar (France) 7-4
Fin Logan Gerick def. Turgay (Turkey) 10-3
Bantam Aziza Chambers lost to Ghorbani Hafshejani (Iran) 10-4
Bantam Olie Burton III lost to Zohri (Netherlands) 7-4
Feather Terrence Jennings lost to Kim (Russia) 3-4 OT
Middle Lauren Hamon lost to Tatar (Turkey) 9-0
Middle Jason Neville def. Olsson (Sweden) 9-4
Heavy La Shondra Rawls lost to Epangue (France) 4-0

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Nine U.S. fighters advance past first round at 2013 Spanish Open

First round results (as of 8:57 a.m. EDT/6:57 a.m. MDT):

Fin Giuliana Gil def. Pellicer Dominguez (Spain) 1-0 OT
Fin Logan Gerick def. Abad Llanos (Spain) 8-2
Fly James Howe II lost to Chellamootoo (France) 10-11
Bantam Aziza Chambers def. Gil de Sagredo (Spain) 7-0
Bantam Olie Burton III def. De Bobadilla (Spain) 12-2
Feather Nicole Palma lost to Louz (Netherlands) 4-3
Feather Terrence Jennings- first round bye
Welter Paige McPherson def. Niare (France) 3-0
Middle Lauren Hamon def. Vazques Oliveira (Spain) 10-3
Middle Jason Neville def. Marmol Segovia (Spain) 6-0
Heavy La Shondra Rawls def. Jimenez (Venezuela) 9-4
Heavy Abel Valdivia lost to Kuznetsov (Russia) 5-10 OT
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
4:15 a.m. EDT/2:15 a.m. MDT- 2013 Spanish Open senior sparring brackets available here.

Comments