USAT announces USOC and USAT Athletes' Advisory Committee Election Results

Dec. 18, 2012, 6:33 p.m. (ET)


FROM:           JASON HAN

                        BARB KUNKEL

                        ERIC LAURIN

DATE:            Dec. 20, 2012


USA Taekwondo’s (USAT) athlete elections for both the USOC and USAT Athletes’ Advisory Councils (AAC) have concluded and USAT would like to congratulate Lynda Laurin (USOC AAC Representative) and Stephen Lambdin (Alternate USOC AAC Representative) on their election as the USAT representatives to the USOC AAC.

USAT would also like to congratulate Nia Abdallah, Lauren Hamon, Terrence Jennings, Stephen Lambdin, Paige McPherson and Phillip Yun on their election to the USAT AAC.  Laurin will join the USAT AAC as the seventh member due to her election as USAT’s representative to the USOC AAC.

All athlete representative terms will begin Jan. 1, 2013.  However, no representative from this group of athletes will be seated on the USAT Board of Directors until the current Transitional Board of Directors has completed their term through March 21, 2013, at which time Athlete Directors to the USAT Board will be seated based on the new Bylaws that are currently being drafted.  In addition, as previously communicated, USAT is working to integrate Poomsae athletes into the future makeup of the USAT AAC.

Detailed results for the election winners are as follows:

USOC AAC Vote Total (33 voters)

Lynda Laurin (Rep.)           24 points

Stephen Lambdin (Alt.)      23 points                   

USAT AAC Vote Total (34 voters)

Stephen Lambdin              85 points

Terrence Jennings             62 points

Paige McPherson               47 points

Nia Abdallah                     40 points                   

Lauren Hamon                  40 points

Phillip Yun                       37 points

In closing, USAT would also like to thank all of the athletes who ran for these positions and were willing to serve USAT and who took the time to vote.

Please don’t hesitate to contact Eric Parthen at 719.866.4064 if you have any questions.