Be Part of Olympic History...Vote for Hall of Fame Class of 2009

May 13, 2009, 6:05 p.m. (ET)

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate exists to recognize the stellar achievements of United States Olympic and Paralympic athletes, teams and coaches.

On April 16, 2009, the United States Olympic Committee and Allstate proudly announced the finalists for the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2009. Distinguished members from previous classes include Olympic legends Muhammad Ali, Peggy Fleming, Jesse Owens, Wilma Rudolph, Bonnie Blair, Eric Heiden, Mark Spitz, Janet Evans and the 1980 U.S. Men's Olympic Ice Hockey Team.

The 2009 class of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate will include five individuals, one team and one Paralympian, as well as three additional individuals: a coach, veteran and special contributor. The inductees will be revealed in early July and will be honored at a black-tie induction ceremony on August 12 at McCormick Place in Chicago. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate is the only national sports Hall of Fame that includes fan voting.

The 2009 induction ceremony will introduce a new international award - the Olive Branch Award - given to an individual or individuals who best represent the international ideals of the Olympic Games by working to build a peaceful and better world through sport. Also new to 2009, the induction ceremony will feature a special fundraising banquet to benefit Chicago 2016, Chicago's bid to host the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Cast your vote now and be a part of Olympic history!