Junior National Team Named in Detroit

July 09, 2008, 10:56 a.m. (ET)
The 20-member 2008 U.S. Junior National Team was determined on July 4 during the Junior Olympic Championships at Ford Field in Detroit. The squad includes nine returning members of the 2007 team as well as one from the 2006 Junior National Team.

Team members returning from last year include male finweight Olie Burton (Accokeek, Md.), male lightweight Tyler Sawyer (Anchorage, Alaska), male light middleweight John Hansel (Ashburn, Va.), male middleweight Thomas Lee (Alexandria, Va.), male heavyweight Christian Suh (Astoria, N.Y.), female flyweight Talina Le (Woodinville, Wash.), female lightweight Nicole Palma (Lake Worth, Fla.), female light heavyweight Laurissa Tanielu (Blue Island, Ill.) and female heavyweight Adrienne Ivey (Ashburn, Va.), as well as female welterweight Emilia Morrow (Alexandria, Va.) who was a 2006 Junior Team member.

New members include male flyweight Jeffery Williams (Blue Island, Ill.), who is the brother of Laurissa Tanielu, male bantamweight Andre Mota (Rocklin, Calif.), male featherweight Jeffery Grahovec (Yorba Linda, Calif.), male welterweight Jaysen Ishida (Waipahu, Hawaii), male light heavyweight Evan Rodgers (Stone Mountain, Ga.), female finweight Stephanie Popken (Highlands Ranch, Colo.), female bantamweight Kiana Lo (Danville, Calif.), female featherweight Shaina Krause (Fairfax Station, Va.), female light middleweight Alexandra Cinque (Ossining, N.Y.) and female middleweight Beatrice Kelly (Jacksonville, Fla.).