Nominations from ITTF Executive Committee Complete Athletes Commission

May 13, 2011, 6:16 p.m. (ET)
Australia’s William Henzell, Ashu Jain from the United States of America, Guatemala’s Jose- Miguel Ramirez, Nigeria’s Offiong Edem and China’s Wang Liqin are the five members of the ITTF Athletes Commission appointed by the Executive Committee of the International Table Tennis Federation on Thursday 12th May 2011.

They join the five elected members Vladimir Samsonov of Belarus, Korea’s Joo Se Hyuk, Belgium’s Jean-Michel Saive, Hungary’s Krisztina Toth and Spain’s Alfredo Carneros on the the eleven strong Commission. Slovakia’s Alena Kanova is the one further member who is the Para Table Tennis representative; she was elected at the World Para Table Tennis Championships in Korea in 2010.

The terms of reference for the appointments made by the ITTF Executive Committee are that the appointments are players active or retired who have played in at least one World Championships with a balance between continents and gender being taken into account.

On Friday 13th May the first meeting of the Athletes’ Commission will be held at 8.00pm with the chair elected.