2009 Coach of the Year Nomination and Selection Process

By Michael D. Cavanaugh | Oct. 28, 2009, 12 a.m. (ET)

It is that time of the year to engage in a nomination and selection process to honor a few of our most deserving coaches.  We utilize the annual process as offered by the U.S. Olympic Committee to seek out nominations from our membership to select Coach of the Year in the following categories: Volunteer, Development, National Team, Paralympic and Doc Counsilman (technology). We have identified a selection committee that consists of the Chairman of the Coaching Advisory Committee, Richard McAfee, USATT Representative to the USOC's Athlete Advisory Council, Whitney Ping , USATT Board Member and USOC Athlete Advisory Council Member, Ashu Jain and USATT CEO, Mike Cavanaugh.

Any current member of USATT may nominate a COY to one of the categories presented.  Nominations are to be sent to Mike Cavanaugh at ceo@usatt.org  - if sent by mail to USATT, 1 Olympic Plaza, Colorado Springs , CO , 80909 .  Please note that nominations must be received in the office by close of business on November 13, 2009!

The selection committee will deliberate all of the nominations received and make a selection for each of the categories in which nominations are received and submit them to the USOC on November 18.  Those coaches selected in any category for COY honors will also be notified on or about November 18. USATT submissions to the USOC will be included in the USOC's selection process for their consideration from all Olympic/Paralympic, Pan Am Games/Para Pan Am Games sports for Coach of the Year.  Our own Sean O'Neill was selected by the USOC for the Coach of the Year in 2007 for the Doc Counsilman category and in 2008; Rajul Sheth was selected by the USOC as the Development Coach of the Year.  We remain very proud of these honors bestowed upon two of our own outstanding coaches!

Thanks in advance to those members who take the time to nominate a deserving coach to be considered for these honors and to all coaches who give of themselves for the good of those they serve and for the betterment of our sport!