USA Table Tennis

Apr 14 Tip of the Day - When to Backhand Loop, and When to Backhand Hit

By Larry Hodges | Oct. 08, 2013, 9 a.m. (ET)
Kalinikos KreangaLily ZhangChen Weixing

When to Backhand Loop, and When to Backhand Hit

Larry Hodges There is a smaller hitting zone on the backhand then on the forehand since the body is in the way. So some shots are more difficult to do on the backhand then on the forehand and for most players, this includes the backhand loop. Trying to catch a moving and spinning ball and spin it back is difficult enough, but to do so with a small hitting zone such as on the backhand is even more difficult. (On the forehand, you can take the ball earlier or later more easily.) So on a ball hit to your backhand, when should you backhand loop, and when should you backhand hit? (This assumes you have both.)

Here’s a general rule. If the ball is coming to your backhand low and slow, you should favor a backhand loop. If the ball is coming in high or fast, you should hit.

Webmaster Note: Larry has an outstanding daily blog worth visiting regularly and bookmarking.

Comments