USA Synchro names 2012 eSynchro Age Group National Champions

June 30, 2012, 12 a.m. (ET)
INDIANAPOLIS The 2012 eSynchro Age Group National Championships concluded 
Saturday with the finals of the 16-17 and 18-19 Age Group competitions at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. 

The world’s largest synchronized swimming championship began competition June 22 and was 
sponsored by the Cincinnati YMCA Synchrogators and Miami University Recreational Sports Center. 

18-19 Age Group results 
The Cincinnati YMCA Synchrogators won the 18-19 team title with 140.448 points, edging Tucson Synchro (139.143) and Menomonee Falls Dolphinet (137.132). 

Carolyne Vasconcellos (141.661) of the Flagler County Belles won the 18-19 solo event, with Miami Wave Club’s Sara Beatriz Rodriguez (139.242) finishing second and Suncoast Waterworks’ Ciana Miller (138.540) third. 

In the 18-19 duet, Emily Emanuele and Kimberly Lurenz of the Menomonee Falls Dolphinet won gold with 139.971 points. Suncoast Waterworks’ Sarah Cooke and Shea Soulliere (139.516) took silver and Rocky Mountain Splash’s Erika Guilbault and Hannah Sphatt (136.704) grabbed bronze. 

The Flagler County Belles (Vasconcellos, Carrie Hartnett, Emily Petkovsek) won 18-19 trio with 140.717 points, followed by the Cincinnati Synchrogators (Quinn Connor, Braxton Moore,Nicole Porter) at 138.263 and Menomonee Falls Dolphinet (Emanuele, Lurenz, Molly Lucas) at 137.768. 

16-17 Age Group results 
The New Canaan Y Aquianas won the 16-17 team title with 139.584 points. The Tonawanda Aquettes (137.790) were second and the Arizona Desert Gems (136.072) finished third. 

Tonawanda’s Anita Alvarez won the 16-18 solo competition, scoring 144.029 points. Kaylee Nicole Bowman (141.675) of the Arizona Desert Dolphins took second and Indy Synchro’s Jessica Giannuzzi (140.275) was third. 

In the 16-17 duet, Giannuzzi partnered with Indy Synchro teammate Victoria Baron to win gold with 140.488 points. Tonawanda’s Alvarez and Emily Sansone were close behind with 139.897 points. Jannel Diaz and Noelis Orochena (139.100) of Allstar Synchro finished third. 

In the 16-17 trio, Indy Synchro (Giannuzzi, Baron, Laura Hinshaw) won gold with 139.989 points, followed by New Canaan Y Aquianas (Renee Elizabeth Collett, Emily Roney, Erin Wheeler) at 138.107 and Arizona Desert Gems (Kasey Clow, Darby Johnson, Hayley Topp) at 135.635. 

13-15 and 11-2 Age Group results 
The 13-15 and 11-12 Age Group Champions were determined Friday. Gillian Brassil helped lead the Walnut Creek Aquanuts to a sweep in the 13-15 age group, winning solo (144.754) and partnering with teammate Jasmine Carrillo to take the duet (143.574). The Aquanuts’ Dana Drury, Natalie Elise Fletcher and Joanna Langner (140.628) won trio and helped the Aquanuts (143.987) to the team title. 

In the 11-12 Age Group, Ohio Synchro Swim Club’s Julia St. John (137.468) won solo and then duet with teammate Ava Lichter (134.25). Elysse Eaton, Claire Chaewon Hyon and Aivan Nguyen (127.482) of La Mirada Aquabelles won trio, and the Santa Clara Aquamaids (131.894) won the team championship.