Field of 64 set for the NCAA Womens College World Series

By Steven Embree | May 13, 2013, 12 a.m. (ET)
INDIANAPOLIS – Oklahoma was named the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship Sunday when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Sooners, champions of the Big 12 Conference, are 47-4 and will play Marist, an automatic qualifier from the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference. 

Click here for a printable bracket. 

Thirty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 33 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top-16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend. 

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition. 

The Southeastern Conference led all conferences with 11 teams selected to the championship. The Pac-12 placed eight in the championship while the Big Ten Conference, Atlantic Coast Conference and Conference USA each had four qualifiers, respectively. Eight teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Pennsylvania, South Carolina-Upstate, Central Connecticut State, Marshall, Western Kentucky, IPFW, Hampton and Longwood. 

Only 11 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, and nine are in this year’s bracket. 

Norman Regional – May 17-19 at Norman, Okla.

No. 1 seed Oklahoma* (47-4) vs. Marist (30-24)
Fordham (35-21) vs. Arkansas (34-18) 

College Station Regional – May 17-19 at College Station, Texas
Baylor (39-15) vs. Arizona (32-24)
Penn (30-18) vs. No. 16 seed Texas A&M* (39-15) 

Baton Rouge Regional – May 17-19 at Baton Rouge, La.
No. 9 seed LSU* (40-14) vs. Central Connecticut State (35-13)
Northwestern State (40-13) vs. Louisiana-Lafayette (43-13) 

Ann Arbor Regional – May 17-19 at Ann Arbor, Mich.
California (36-17) vs. Central Michigan (33-18)
Valparaiso (34-25) vs. No. 8 seed Michigan* (45-10) 

Tempe Regional – May 17-19 at Tempe, Ariz.
No. 5 seed Arizona State* (45-10) vs. San Jose State (42-15)
Georgia (38-19) vs. San Diego State (35-18) 

Lexington Regional – May 17-19 at Lexington, Ky.
Notre Dame (43-13) vs. Virginia Tech (35-19)
Marshall (35-20) vs. No. 12 seed Kentucky* (38-18) 

Mobile Regional – May 17-19 at Mobile, Ala.
No. 13 seed South Alabama* (45-7) vs. Mississippi Valley (24-26)
Mississippi State (32-22) vs. Florida State (41-16) 

Austin Regional – May 17-19 at Austin, Texas
Houston (40-18) vs. South Carolina (32-23)
Army (35-24) vs. No 4 seed Texas* (44-8) 

Eugene Regional – May 16-18 at Eugene, Ore.
No. 3 seed Oregon* (46-9) vs. BYU (33-20)
North Carolina (39-19) vs. Wisconsin (42-11) 

Lincoln Regional – May 17-19 at Lincoln, Neb.
Stanford (37-19) vs. Tulsa (42-14)
UNI (26-24) vs. No. 14 seed Nebraska* (40-13) 

Washington Regional – May 17-19 at Seattle, Wash.
No. 11 seed Washington (38-15) vs. Portland State (25-29)
Minnesota (35-17) vs. Hawaii (43-11) 

Columbia Regional – May 17-19 at Columbia, Mo.
Hofstra (43-11) vs. Oregon State (33-22)
Stony Brook (35-23) vs. No. 6 seed Missouri* (35-11) 

Knoxville Regional – May 17-19 at Knoxville, Tenn.
No. 7 seed Tennessee* (44-10) vs. Longwood (35-17)
James Madison (41-15) vs. North Carolina State (33-18) 

Tuscaloosa Regional – May 17-19 at Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Western Kentucky (41-16) vs. S.C. Upstate (41-10)
Jacksonville State (30-25) vs. No. 10 seed Alabama* (42-13) 

Louisville Regional – May 17-19 at Louisville, Ky.
No. 15 seed Louisville* (46-11) vs. IPFW (32-14)
UAB (37-16) vs. UCLA (37-18) 

Gainesville Regional – May 17-19 at Gainesville, Fla.
South Florida (43-14) vs. Georgia Southern (32-28)
Hampton (33-24) vs. No. 2 seed Florida* (52-7)
* Indicates host institution 

Championship Structure 

The championship will be three weekends of competition. Four teams will participate at each of 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. Sixteen teams were seeded and placed at one of the regional sites. Eight regional sites will be televised in their entirety on the ESPN family of networks. 

The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series that will be conducted May 23-26 at eight campus sites. For the fourth consecutive year, all Super Regional games will be televised on the ESPN family of networks. 

The remaining eight teams will advance to the WCWS, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. The championship final will be a best-of-three-series. The WCWS will be conducted May 30 – June 5 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City. 

Selection Process 

The committee selected teams from the following eight regions to participate in the championship: Central, East, Northeast, South, Mideast, Midwest, West and Pacific. Thirty-one conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2013 championship. 

Seeding, Sites 

Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams were placed in regional brackets to create balanced competition and avoid conference match-ups, when possible. 

About the NCAA Women’s College World Series 

The ASA Hall of Fame Stadium serves as the home to the NCAA Women’s College World Series (WCWS). For the 23rd year, the top eight college teams in the nation will head to Oklahoma City and complete for a National Championship title. Last year, over 75,000 fans attended the WCWS. Experience It Live May 30 to June 5 in Oklahoma City. Tickets for the 2013 NCAA WCWS are on sale now, click here to purchase your tickets and make a date with champions!