Juniors arrive in Brampton for the ISF X Junior World Championship

By Codi Warren | June 26, 2013, 12 a.m. (ET)

BRAMPTON, Ont. - The USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team arrived in Brampton, Ontario, Canada to begin their quest for the 2013 International Softball Federation (ISF) X Junior Women’s World Championship Gold the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America and USA Softball announced today. The United States is slated to begin pool play Monday, July 1 against Great Britain at 9:30 a.m. (EDT). 

“I’m really excited to be in Canada for the World Championship,” said USA infielder Emily Crane. “It’s not every day that someone gets to be in this situation, especially with such an amazing group of girls who make up the team.  To be with them makes it that much more special.  We’re excited for practices to begin tomorrow and to take the field again to represent our country. The team have been getting along great, and our exhibition games really displayed that and helped us come together.  We’re all ready to get back out there and represent the Red, White and Blue and continue the winning tradition of USA Softball.” 

Following their opening game with Great Britain, the USA is scheduled to play six other pool-play games: Czech Republic and Venezuela on July 2, Puerto Rico and Canada on July 3 and Korea and New Zealand on July 4. The playoffs are scheduled to begin on July 5 with finals on July 7. 

Click here for coverage throughout the ISF X Junior Women’s World Championship

In the 2011 ISF Junior Women’s World Championship, the USA defeated Japan 4-1 in the finals to win their fourth World Championship title and second in a row.  

The 17 athletes on the USA Softball roster are: Ali Aguilar (Orangevale, Calif.), Emily Crane (Troy, Mo.), Jailyn Ford (Hot Springs, Va.), Andrea Hawkins (Bay City, Texas), Cheridan Hawkins (Anderson, Calif.), Sierra Lawrence (Snellville, Ga.), Haylie McCleney (Morris, Ala.), Paige McDuffee (The Woodlands, Texas), Danica Mercado (Temecula, Calif.), Erica Nunn (Apex, N.C.), Jessica Plaza (Huntington Beach, Calif.), Sierra Romero (Murrieta, Calif.),  Mysha Sataraka (Honolulu, Hawaii), Erin Shireman (Pearland, Texas), Lee Ann Spivey (Palm Coast, Fla.), Kelsey Stewart (Wichita, Kan.) and Lauren Young (Anaheim, Calif.). 

Two-time Olympian Tairia Flowers (Tucson, Ariz./head coach Cal State Northridge) leads the Red, White and Blue, while four-time Olympian Laura Berg (Corvalis, Ore./head coach Oregon State), Trisha Ford (Fremont, Calif./head coach Fresno State), and Lisa Dodd (San Diego, Calif./head coach at UNLV) will join the coaching staff in Canada.

The ISF also plans to stream the entire World Championship tournament online. The link for the streaming as well as live stats will be available via USASoftball.com throughout the tournament.