Additional Invitees to World Universtiy Selection

May 01, 2006, 1:38 p.m. (ET)
Additional Invitees to World Universtiy Selection
OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. – USA Softball announced the addition of 13 players to its upcoming selection camp for the 2006 World University Games. The World University Games selection camp will be held June 9-11 at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. 18 players will be selected to represent USA Softball at the World University Games in Taiwan, July 15-23.

The additional players invited are Angela Tincher (Eagle Rock, Va., Virginia Tech); Becky Marx (St. Joseph, Mich., Michigan); Megan Willis (Chandler, Ariz., Texas); Christina Clark (Santa Ana, Calif., Fresno State); Tonya Callahan (Holden, Mo., Tennessee); Danyele Gomez (Metairie, La., Louisiana Lafayette); Cambria Miranda (Camarillo, Calif., Oregon State); Leslie Klein (Sunrise, Fla., LSU); Courtney Bures (Haymarket, Va., Mississippi State); Megan McAllister (Carlsbad, Calif., Georgia); Amy Hudson (Everett, Wash., Central Michigan); Megan Gibson (Spring, Texas, Texas A&M) and Callista Balko (Tucson, Ariz., Arizona). 
The 27 players previously invited to the World University Team Selection Camp are Caitlin Benyi (Scottsdale, Ariz., UCLA); Tina Boutelle (Katy, Texas, Texas); Katie Burkhart (San Luis Obispo, Ariz., Arizona State);
 Kaitlin Cochran (Yorba Linda, Calif., Arizona State); Maddy Coon (Chappaqua, NY, Stanford); Garland Cooper (Mission Viejo, Calif., Northwestern); Mindy Cowles (Riverside, Calif., Arizona State); Lisa Dodd (San Diego, Calif., UCLA); Norrelle Dickson (Orange, Calif., Oklahoma); Sarah Fekete (Maryville, Tenn., Tennessee); Samantha Findlay (Lockport, Ill., Michigan); Kristie Fox (San Diego, Calif., Arizona); Tiffany Haas (North Tustin, Calif., Michigan); Vanessa Iapala (San Diego, Calif., Oregon State); Jodie Legaspi (Garden Grove, Calif., UCLA); Brianne McGowan (Reno, Nev., Oregon State); Aimee Minor (San Jacinto, Calif., Washington); Catalina Morris (Sonoita, Ariz., Stanford); Jackie Rinehart (Reno, Nev., Stanford); Lindsay Schutzler (Monterey, Calif., Tennessee); Anjelica Selden (Vacaville, Calif., UCLA); Kristina Thorson (Lake Forest Park, Wash., California); Stephanie VanBrakle (Chambersburg, Penn., Alabama); Kristen Vesley (Phoenix, Ariz., Oklahoma); Desiree Williams (Tucson, Ariz., Texas); Haley Woods (Burlingame, Calif., California) and Emily Zaplatosch (Scottsdale, Ariz., UCLA).

About ASA 
The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation’s largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 87 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 230,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, .

About USA Softball 
USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men’s, Women’s, Junior Boys’ and Junior Girls’ National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women’s National Team is one of the only two women’s sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won seven World Championship titles including the last five consecutive.