Participants invited to USA Softball

May 10, 2005, 2:37 p.m. (ET)

Participants invited to USA Softball June 13-17 National Team Selection Camp

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. --- The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States and USA Softball announced today the 32 initial athletes invited to participate in the 2005 Women’s National Team Selection Camp, June 13-17, at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, CA. The Women’s Selection Committee will announce the remaining athletes invited to the selection camp on May 18.
The 2005 Coaching assignments were also announced today selecting coaches from the 16-member pool to lead the Red, White and Blue this season. Selected by the Women’s National Team Selection Committee, a head coach and three assistants were assigned to every major international event in 2005.
“We are excited to get the 2005 season rolling,” said Director of National Teams Ronnie Isham. “After our success in Athens, we must continue to put the best players and coaches on the field to remain at the top of the game and aim for USA Softball’s fourth consecutive gold medal in Beijing 2008.”
An 18-member national team and 16-member elite team will be selected from this camp to represent the United States in the various international events in 2005. The National team will participate in an exhibition versus Australia on July 12 in Irvine, Calif., the World Cup of Softball July 14-18 in Oklahoma City, and the Japan Cup July 16- August 5 in Yokohama, Japan. The Elite team will participate in the Canada Cup June 29-July 11 in Surrey, B.C., and the Inter-Continental Spain Cup July 20-July 28 in Madrid, Spain.
The following is a complete breakdown of the selection camp participants by state with their college listed in parenthesis (* are players that have college eligibility):
Tairia Flowers (Tucson, AZ, UCLA) 
Monica Abbott (Salinas, CA, Tennessee*) 
Laura Berg (Santa Fe Springs, CA, Fresno State)
Katie Burkhart (San Luis Obispo, CA, Arizona State*)
Jaime Clark (Tustin, CA, Washington)
Christina Enea (Woodland Hills, CA, Oklahoma)
Lisa Fernandez (Long Beach, CA, UCLA) 
Jennie Finch (La Mirada, CA, Arizona) 
Amanda Freed (Cypress, CA, UCLA) 
Vicky Galindo (Union City, CA, California-Berkeley) 
Nicole Giordano (Saugus, CA, Arizona) 
Tiffany Haas (Santa Ana, CA, Michigan*)
Alicia Hollowell (Suisun, CA, Arizona*)
Lovieanne Jung (Fountain Valley, CA, Arizona) 
Lauren Lappin (Anaheim, CA, Stanford*) 
Caitlin Lowe (Tustin, CA, Arizona*) 
Jessica Mendoza (Camarillo, CA, Stanford)
Aimee Minor (San Jacinto, CA, Washington*)
Marissa Nichols (Diamond Bar, CA, UNLV)
Stacey Nuveman (La Verne, CA, UCLA) 
Heather Scaglione (San Diego, CA, Oklahoma)
Lindsay Schutzler (Monterey, CA, Tennessee*) 
Dana Sorensen (San Diego, CA, Stanford)
Jamie Southern (Clovis, CA, Fresno State) 
Jenny Topping (Whittier, CA, Cal State Fullerton) 
Natasha Watley (Irvine, CA, UCLA) 
Kelly Kretschman (Indian Harbour Beach, FL, Alabama) 
Kellie Wilkerson (Jacksonville, FL, Mississippi State) 
Brianne McGowan (Reno, NV, Oregon State*)
Cat Osterman (Houston, TX, Texas*) 
Courtney Bures (Haymarket, CA, Mississippi State*)
Leigh Ann Ellis (Barboursville, WV, South Florida)
About ASA 
The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation's largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 89 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 240,000 teams and 40,000 umpires today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit
About USA Softball 
USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men’s, Women’s, Junior Boys’ and Junior Girls’ National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women’s National Team is one of the only two women’s sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won seven World Championship titles including the last five consecutive.