National Team selection committees named

Dec. 01, 2004, 11:06 a.m. (ET)
National Team selection committees named

Oklahoma City, OK---The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today the individuals that will be in charge of selecting the athletes to represent the United States in international softball competitions for the next four years.
Members of the USA Softball Men’s and Women’s Selection Committee’s were chosen after an application and interview process and will now assume the arduous task of finding the top softball players in the country to represent the U.S. in every international competition.
Each USA Softball selection committee consists of three members of the ASA National Council, a representative from the allied members, two player representatives and the head coach.
Four members of the USA Softball Men’s Selection Committee remain in place for the next quadrennial and are joined by a former player and a former member of the women’s selection committee.
Warren Jones of Ashland, OH, Doug Lindaman of Ackley, IA, Avon Meacham of Upper Marlboro, MD and Cliff Warrick of Round Rock, TX return from the men’s committee whose team selections won gold at the 2001 Pan Am Qualifier and silver at the 2003 Pan Am Games. Ross Dey of Sedalia, MO, who retired from competition on the Men’s National Team after the 2004 ISF Men’s World Championship, joins Avon Meacham as one of the two player representatives on the committee. Dan Highland of Normal, IL served on the Women’s Committee the past four years but will now work with the Men’s Selection Committee.
Three members of the USA Softball Women’s Selection Committee remain the same after one of the most impressive performances ever by the USA Softball Women’s National Team program.
Marty McGuire of Midland, MI, Sam Ducato of Dublin, CA and Judy Sherman of Forest Grove, OR return for another four year stint. 1998 World gold medalist Amy Hillenbrand of Tucson, AZ joins 2000 Olympic gold medalist Jennifer McFalls of Grand Prairie, TX as the two athlete representatives on the committee. Glenn Morrison of Killeen, TX, who is the ASA Commissioner for the state of Texas, is the final member of the committee.
USA Softball Men’s Head Coach Peter Turner of Stockton, CA and USA Softball Women’s Head Coach Mike Candrea of Casa Grande, AZ will serve on their respective committees until they are replaced as head coach or reselected.