For a better browsing experience please switch your browser out of compatability mode.

ASA/USA Softball

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. --- The Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA), the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, has selected its 10 Finalists for the 8th Annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered the most prestigious honors in Division I women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee's Monica Abbott and Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher. 

The Top 10 list represents 10 schools and five different NCAA Division I Conferences. The list is comprised of five seniors, four juniors, and one sophomore. The 2009 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year will be chosen from the 10 finalists. 

The three finalists will be announced May 20th while the winner of the 2009 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2009 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

2009 Top 10 Finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year

Name – School – Year – Position – Hometown

Stacie Chambers (Arizona) – Junior – Catcher – Glendale, Az.

Kaitlin Cochran (Arizona State) - Senior- Outfield - Yorba Linda, Calif.

Amber Flores (Oklahoma) – Junior – Infield – Calexico, Calif.

Alisa Goler (Georgia) – Sophomore – Infield – Frankfort, Ill.

Danielle Lawrie (Washington) – Junior - Pitcher – Langley, British Columbia

Charlotte Morgan (Alabama) – Junior– Pitcher/Utility – Moreno Valley, Calif.

Stacey Nelson (Florida) – Senior – Pitcher – Los Alamitos, Calif.

Amber Patton (DePaul) – Senior – Third Base - Forsyth, Ill.

Missy Penna (Stanford) – Senior – Pitcher/Infield – Miami, Fla.

Tammy Williams (Northwestern) – Senior – Infield - Roscoe, Mo.

About ASA 

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation's largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 83 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 240,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit

About USA Softball 

USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men's, Women's, Junior Boys' and Junior Girls' National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women's National Team is one of the only two women's sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won eight World Championship titles including the last six consecutive as well as claimed two World Cup of Softball titles. For more information about USA Softball, please visit