For a better browsing experience please switch your browser out of compatability mode.

ASA/USA Softball

Oklahoma City, OK—The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today its initial watch list for the 5th annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered one of the most prestigious honors in women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman, Florida State’s Jessica Van der Linden and two-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman. 

The 2006 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 28 schools and 10 different NCAA Division I Conferences. USA Softball will announce its 25 finalists on April 5. A player does not have to appear on the initial watch list to be considered as a Top 25 finalist, but once the Top 25 is named the remaining finalist must be selected from that list. 

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 10. The three finalists will be announced May 31. The winner of the 2006 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced during the NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City. 

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player’s academic institution. 

Osterman was selected as the 2005 winner after leading her Texas Longhorns to the Big 12 Tournament title and a berth into the Women’s College World Series. This marked the second time the southpaw from Houston, Texas was named as a recipient of the award and will be back for her senior season at Texas in 2006. 

This year’s watch list contains six players who were among the Top 10 finalists for the 2005 Award including Michigan’s Jennie Ritter, Arizona’s Caitlin Lowe and Osterman who were the final three finalists in Oklahoma City. 

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of amateur softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions. 

2006 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List: 

(listed in alphabetical order) 

Monica Abbott Salinas, CA Tennessee Jr. Pitcher 

Caitlin Benyi Scottsdale, AZ UCLA Sr. Second Base 

Tina Boutelle Katy, TX Texas Sr. Outfield 

Courtney Bures Haymarket, VA Mississippi State So. Infield 

Katie Burkhart San Luis Obispo, CA Arizona State So. Pitcher 

Kasi Carroll Norris City, IL Georgia Jr. Pitcher/Outfield 

Lauren Castle Lafayette, LA LSU Sr. Outfield 

Autumn Champion Tustin, CA Arizona Sr. Outfield 

Christina Clark Santa Ana, CA Fresno State Sr. Infield 

Garland Cooper Mission Viejo, CA Northwestern Jr. First Base 

Jennifer Curtier Lancaster, CA Pacific Jr. First Base 

Holly Currie Pisgah, AL Auburn Jr. Pitcher/First Base 

Megan Denny Crowley, TX Texas So. Pitcher 

Norrelle Dickson Orange, CA Oklahoma Jr. Third Base/SS 

Andrea Duran Selma, CA UCLA Sr. Third Base 

Kristi Durant Placentia, CA Tennessee Sr. 3rd/Catcher 

Sarah Fekete Maryville, TN Tennessee Sr. Outfield 

Samantha Findlay Lockport, IL Michigan So. First Base 

Courtnay Foster Tucson, AZ Northwestern Sr. Pitcher 

Kristie Fox San Diego, CA Arizona Jr. Shortstop 

Megan Gibson Spring, TX Texas A&M So. Pitcher/First Base 

Danyele Gomez Metairie, LA Louisiana Lafayette Sr. Outfield 

Tiffany Haas North Tustin, CA Michigan Sr. Second Base 

Alicia Hollowell Suisun, CA Arizona Sr. Pitcher 

Vanessa Iapala San Diego, CA Oregon State Sr. First Base /Catcher 

Amber Jackson Fontana, CA Bethune-Cookman Sr. Shortstop 

Chelsi Lake Keller, TX Baylor Jr. Infield 

Lauren Lappin Anaheim, CA Stanford Sr. Shortstop/Catcher 

Sara Larquier Burbank, CA Virginia Sr. Third Base 

Dominique Lastrapes Mission Viejo, CA Washington Jr. Second Base 

Danielle Lawrie Langley, British Columbia Washington Fr. Pitcher 

Jodie Legaspi Garden Grove, CA UCLA Jr. Shortstop 

Caitlin Lowe Tustin, CA Arizona Jr. Shortstop 

Brianne McGowan Reno, NV Oregon State Jr. Pitcher/First Base 

Micaela Minner Sanger, TX Missouri So. Outfield 

Catalina Morris Sonoita, AZ Stanford Sr. Outfield 

Marissa Nichols Diamond Bar, CA UNLV So. Outfield 

Cat Osterman Houston, TX Texas Sr. Pitcher 

Jackie Rinehart Reno, NV Stanford Jr. Outfield 

Jennie Ritter Dexter, MI Michigan Sr. Pitcher 

Amanda Scarborough Magnolia, TX Texas A&M So. Pitcher 

Lindsay Schutzler Monterey, CA Tennessee Jr. Infield 

Harmony Schwethelm San Antonio, TX Baylor Sr. Infield/Outfield 

Christine Sheridan Pasadena, MD Georgia Tech Sr. Shortstop 

Anjelica Selden Vacaville, CA UCLA So. Pitcher 

Kristina Thorson Lake Forest Park, WA California Sr. Pitcher 

Angela Tincher Eagle Rock, VA Virginia Tech So. Pitcher 

Stephanie VanBrakle Chambersburg, PA Alabama Sr. Pitcher 

Kristin Vesley Phoenix, AZ Oklahoma Sr. Centerfield 

Emily Zaplatosch Scottsdale, AZ UCLA Sr. First Base /Catcher