For a better browsing experience please switch your browser out of compatability mode.

ASA/USA Softball

Oklahoma City, Okla.---The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today the 25 finalists for the 5th Annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered the Heisman Trophy in women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. 

The Top 25 is comprised of players representing 18 colleges and seven different NCAA Division I Conferences. Among the list are 12 seniors, seven juniors, four sophomores and two freshmen. Eight of the finalists were among the Top 25 finalists in 2005 including Michigan’s Jennie Ritter, Arizona’s Caitlin Lowe and Texas’ Cat Osterman who were the final three finalists in Oklahoma City. 

Click here for a complete list of the Top 25 Finalists. 

On May 10, just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named. On May 31 the list will be cut to three and those final three players will travel to Oklahoma City for the announcement of the winner at the 2006 NCAA Women's College World Series. 

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player’s academic institution. 

Osterman became the first two-time winner of the National Player of the Year Award in 2005 after leading her Longhorns to the Big 12 title and a berth into the NCAA Women’s College World Series. Past winners of the award include Stacey Nuveman (UCLA-2002), Osterman (Texas-2003) and Jessica Van der Linden (Florida State-2004).