For a better browsing experience please switch your browser out of compatability mode.

Changed in 1993 from Charles Snyder Memorial Award back to Artistic Skater of the Year Award. 


Winning this award, first given in 1983, identifies the recipient as the USARS Artistic Skater of the Year.  It may be awarded to a current artistic skater or team who typifies the best in artistic roller skating through consistently superior performance, outstanding progress through the competitive season or contributions made in showcasing the sport to others.

To receive this award, the candidate must:

1)                  Be a USARS Artistic Roller Skating Federation member in good standing

2)                  Have demonstrated clearly superior innovative content and manner of performance in his or her chosen event throughout the competitive year; or, the individual must have made an outstanding effort to improve his or her level of achievement during the competitive year;

3)                  Have demonstrated a willingness to share his or her event knowledge with others through participation in exhibitions, demonstrations, clinics; or, through acceptance of invitations to visit other countries for these purposes;

4)         Have conducted himself or herself with distinction at all events in which he or she represented artistic roller skating for the Confederation or the United States. 

Past awards recipients are:

2011 – Natalie Motley, Alexandria, Virginia

2010 - Kyle Turley and Heather Menard, Spring, Texas

2009 - Robert Hines and Aubrey Orcutt, Redwood City, California

2008 - Nicole Leonard, Fountain Valley, Callifornia

2007 - Nicole Leonard, Yorba Linda, California

2006 - Logan Boggs and Julie Locke, Milpitas, California

2005 - Kyle Turley of Spring, Texas

2004 - David Jacques, Sacramento, California

2003 - Heather Mulkey, Citrus Heights, California

2002 - Kyle Turley of Spring, Texas

2001 - April Dayney, Virginia Beach, Virginia

2000 - Heather Mulkey, San Antonio, Texas

1999 - Ronald Brenn and Candi Powderly, Milford, Massachusetts

1998 - Bob and Sharon Behrendt, Keihi, Hawaii

1997 - Jennifer Orcutt, Fremont, California

1996 - April Dayney, Toledo, Ohio

1995 - Tim Patten and Lisa Friday, Taunton, Massachusetts

1994 - Heath Medeiros, Westport, Massachusetts

1993 - Steven Findlay, Farmington Hills, Michigan

1992 - Jennifer Rodriguez, Miami, Florida

1991 - Greg Goody and Jodee Viola, Taunton, Massachusetts

1990 - David DeMotte, Santa Ana, California

1999 - Lynn Suwinski, Utica, Michigan

1988 - Greg, Smith, Toledo, Ohio

1987 - Ken Benson and Rob n Young, Hurst,Texas

1986 - Scott Cohen, North Brunswick, New Jersey

1985 - John Arishita and Tammy Jerue, Santa Ana, California

1994 - Tina Kneisley, Marion, Ohio

1983 - Mark Howard and Cindy Smith, Richmond, Virginia