Call For Sport Committee Candidates

Aug. 14, 2014, 4:59 p.m. (ET)



SPORT COMMITTEES:  The USARS Board of Directors shall appoint the members of all Sport Committees and will determine the quantity of Sport Committee members to serve.  The Chairperson designation will be for a one-year term. In an effort to stabilize the intellectual knowledge of the Sport Committees, voting members shall serve four-year staggered terms, and those who are without a vote have one-year terms.  

USARS Sport Committee Openings (Speed, Figure, Rink Hockey, Inline Hockey) - Board consideration is given to provide representation of athletes, officials and coaches on each sport committee.  Following the close of the 2014 Fall (October) Board of Directors Meeting, on a rotating basis, positions on the USARS Sport Committees will expire, as noted below in red type for 2014.  The Board will fill the openings subject to receipt of resumes from current members of the following membership classes.  All classes will be represented by one or more committee members. 

Athletes - Speed, Artistic, Hockey Athletes for each discipline within USARS.  Only members who have attained 18 years of age or older and who meet the USOC definition of an active athlete (meaning they must have competed in roller skating in the Olympics, Pan American Games, Senior World Championships or other Senior International Elite Level Competitions within the immediately preceding ten years) may apply to and qualify for nomination for a Sport Committee.

Officials - Speed, Artistic and Hockey Officials who are commissioned national championships officials and who have served in such a capacity for at least the immediately preceding two (2) years.

Coach - Speed, Artistic and Hockey Coaches who are USARS Advanced or Elite Coaches.

For 2014 Sport Committee openings, the deadline for receipt of resumes shall be October 1, 2014.

2013-14 USARS Officers and Committees - Approved October 12-13, 2013

Sport Committee Members with a vote shall have four-year terms

Sport Committee Members without a vote shall have one-year terms

Chairmen are elected for one-year terms

2013-14 Roller Figure Committee

Bill Spooner - Chairman (committee member term expires 2016) - voting

John Cawly (term expires 2014) - voting

Jane Wojnarowsky (term expires 2014) voting

Jim Pollard - Senior Advisor  (CPRS Term expires 2015) - non-voting

Jessica Gaudy - Athlete (term expires 2015) - voting

Aubrey Orcutt - Athlete (term expires 2016) - voting

David Adamy (term expires 2016) - voting

Ed Harney (term expires 2016) - voting

Tony Berger (term expires 2017) - voting


2013-14 Roller Speed Committee

Buggy Allmond - Chairman (committee member term expires 2016) - voting

Ricci Porter - Staff Director - voting

Laura Gustafson Sweers (term ending 2014) - non-voting

Jorge Botero (term ending 2014) - non-voting

Richard Hawkins - Senior Advisory (CPRS Term expires 2015) - non-voting

Josh Wood - Athlete (term expires 2014) - voting

Shaun Pattison (term expires 2015) - voting

Chris Payne (term expires 2016) - voting

Sara Sayasane Hebbrecht (term expire 2016) - voting

Joe Hanna (term expires 2017) - voting


2013-14 Rink Hockey Committee

Tom Hughes - Chairperson (committee member term expires 2014) - voting 

Brent Benson - Staff Director - voting

Pat Ferguson - (term expire 2014) - non-voting

Don Allen (term expires 2015) - voting

Brian Moyer - Athlete (term expiring 2016) - voting

Jim Jost (term expires 2017) - voting


2013-14 Inline Hockey Committee

Mark Vittese - Chairman (Committee member term expires 2017) - voting      

Brent Benson - Staff Director - voting

Charlotte Nicholson - Athlete (term expires 2014) - voting

Jon Roux (term expires 2014) - voting

Rich Garvey (term expires 2014) - non-voting

Arlene Lehman (term expires 2015) - voting

Keith Noll - non-voting Senior Advisor (Ex Officio-FIRS-CIRILH Member term expires 2016) 

Jetta Rackleff - Athlete (term expires 2016 ) - voting

Brennan Edwards (term expires 2016) - voting


2013-14 Derby Committee:

Fernando Regueiro- Chairman (committee member term expires 2017) - voting

AJ Epp - Staff Director - voting

Approved Committee Member with term expiring 2014 resigned

Chris Hunter (term expires 2015) - voting

John McNeel (term expires 2017) - voting

Amy Handyside Rule - Athlete (term expires 2016) - voting

Sara O'Donoghue (term expires 2016) - voting


RESUMES FOR ANY OF THE ABOVE POSITIONS CAN BE SUBMITTED TO – Peggy Young, USA Roller Sports, 4730 South Street, Lincoln, NE  68507 by mail, or to by e-mail.