2017 Intercollegiate Championships Conclude

By Leo R. Vasquez | April 04, 2017, 12:35 p.m. (ET)

photos by: Jeff Gallemore (Gallemore Photography)

2017 Award Winners and Final Team Finishers

Thomas Carter and Carla Muñoz Take Singles Titles at the 2017 U.S. National Intercollegiate Racquetball Championships

Fountain Valley, Calif. – Thomas Carter of Murrysville, Pa., of Baldwin Wallace University, and Carla Muñoz of Pueblo, Colo., of Colorado State University-Pueblo, have respectively won the Men’s and Women’s Singles titles at the 2017 U.S. National Intercollegiate Championships presented by Gearbox and Penn.

Thomas Carter, 20, was the top men’s singles seed in the Championship. He finished as a semifinalist in 2016 with a loss to eventual champion Markie Rojas. Carter was cruising along in the draw until he ran into a red hot Adam Manilla, 21, of the University of Colorado. Carter won the first game 15-6 but it was the second game when Manilla started to find his groove and grind out a 15-13 game win to set up the all important tie-breaker. It was point for point, dive for dive until Carter started to put the pressure on Manilla and close it out with an 11-6 win and a trip to the finals.

Carter picked up right where he left off against Erik Garcia, 22, of Colorado State University-Pueblo and won the first game 15-8. The second game was a back and forth battle as Carter elevated his level of play to match the power and intensity that Garcia was bringing. With the second game tied at 13-13, Carter fired off two serves to the right side for aces and a 15-13 win, and as they say, the rest is history as Carter was all smiles when presented his gold medal on the championship court.  As a result of his win, Carter earned a position as a member of the 2017-18 U.S. National Team.

Nick Riffel and Manolo Sandoval at the 2017 U.S. National Intercollegiate Racquetball Championships
Nick Riffel (CU) and Manolo Sandoval (BWU) at the 2017 USAR National Intercollegiate Racquetball Championships.

Reaching the finals with relative ease, Carla Muñoz, 25, ranked 8th on the Ladies Professional Racquetball Tour and a member of the Chilean National Team, stormed her way through the women’s singles draw without dropping a single game along the way. Muñoz was the defending champion, a woman on a mission looking to repeat and not wanting to relinquish her singles title. She answered that challenge with a dominating performance over a relentless Melania Sauma, 19, of Arizona State University in the finals 15-6, 15-3 for the match and another gold medal to match her 2016 singles win.

Oregon State University Captures 10th Consecutive Overall Team Championship

Another highlight and the most important awards are the team-based titles. The Olympic format of the Championship allows up to six men and six women from each school to compete in singles point divisions along with three men’s and three women’s doubles teams that identify Men’s, Women’s and Overall Team Champions.  The Olympic format of the championship allows players of all skill levels to compete while ensuring that they play a reasonable number of matches and eventually play opponents of similar skill level.

Oregon State University and Baldwin Wallace University
Overall Team Champions, Oregon State University and runner-up overall champions, Baldwin Wallace University.

Once again, Oregon State University continued their winning ways by capturing the school’s 10th Overall Team Championship. Coach Rob Durbin and all of the players had a tough week of racquetball but managed to come out victorious and grab the top spot, adding another championship to their collection.

The Men’s Team title was awarded to Baldwin Wallace University with several dominating and stunning performances in singles and doubles to lead all other schools with 1,810 points. Colorado State University-Pueblo came in 2nd place with 1,326 points and Oregon State University came in 3rd place with 807 points.

The Women’s Team title honors went to Oregon State University as they led all women’s teams with 1,265 points at the end of the Championship. The University of Missouri finished in 2nd place with 789 points and Brigham Young University took 3rd place with 764 points.

Overall Team - Division I
1. Oregon State University - 2,072 points
2. Baldwin Wallace University - 2,035 points
3. Colorado State University - 1,1816 points

Men's Team - Division I
1. Baldwin Wallace University - 1,810 points
2. Colorado State University - 1,326 points
3. Oregon State University - 807 points

Women's Team - Division I
1. Oregon State University - 1,265 points
2. University of Missouri - 789 points
3. Brigham Young University - 764 points

Overall Team - Division II
1. Rochester Institute of Technology - 259.50 points
2. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute - 181.00 points
3. Clarkson - 40.50 points

Men's Team - Division II
1. Rochester Institute of Technology - 233 points
2. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute - 124 points
3. Clarkson - 40.50 points

Women's Team - Division II
1. Rochester Institute of Technology - 57 points
2. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute - 27 points
3. Rowan University - 5 points

  Online Results

  Final Team Results (Adobe PDF)

2017 USA Racquetball Intercollegiate All American Award Winers
The 2017 USA Racquetball National Intercollegiate Racquetball Championships All-American Award Winners.

About USA Racquetball

USA Racquetball, founded in 1969, is recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee as the National Governing Body for the sport. The organization annually conducts six national championships and sanctions hundreds of tournaments for players of all ages and skill levels. The organization also organizes the Adult and Junior National Racquetball Teams, oversees the Official Rules of Racquetball, administers National Player Rankings, manages a college scholarship program, and supports the introduction of new players to the sport.

Media Contact

Leo R. Vasquez, USA Racquetball Media, leorvasquez@gmail.com