Margaux Isaksen Earns Finals Berth at Pentathlon World Championships

Aug. 14, 2009, 7:31 p.m. (ET)

Seventeen-year-old American Margaux Isaksen (Fayetteville, Ark.) has qualified for the finals of the 2009 Modern Pentathlon World Championships at the Crystal Palace in London, England. Isaksen placed fifth in her group during Friday's qualification round which consisted of fencing, swimming and the newly combined run/shoot disciplines. The 60-woman field was divided into two groups with the top 18 finishers from each group advancing to Sunday's finals. 

Isaksen totaled 4156 points by finishing seventh in fencing, eighth in the swim and 21st in the combined run/shoot. The winner of her group was Olympic gold medalist Lena Schoneborn of Germany with 4340 points. Sunday's final will consist of all five pentathlon events: fencing, swimming, riding, and the combined run/shoot. 

Saturday's schedule features the men's individual finals with U.S. athletes Will Brady (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and 2008 Olympian Sam Sacksen (Somerset, Pa.) among the competitors vying for medals. Brady and Sacksen qualified for the finals by placing among the top 12 in their groups during Thursday's qualification round. They will also compete in Monday's team relay event. 

Friday's Finalists from Women's Individual Competition 


  1. Lena Schoneborn (GER)
  2. Sarolta Kovacs (HUN)
  3. Claudia Knack (GER)
  4. Donata Rimsaite (LTU)
  5. Margaux Isaksen (USA)
  6. Krisztina Cseh (HUN)
  7. Wu Yanyan (CHN)
  8. Lucie Grolichova (CZE)
  9. Evdokia Gretchichnikova (RUS)
  10. Anais Eudes (FRA)
  11. Katy Livingston (GBR)
  12. Heather Fell (GBR)
  13. Katarzyna Wojcik (POL)
  14. Natalie Dianova (CZE)
  15. Jihan El Midany (EGY)
  16. Chen Qian (CHN)
  17. Yane Marques (BRA)
  18. Polina Struchtkova (RUS) 


  1. Mhairi Spence (GBR)
  2. Amelie Caze (FRA)
  3. Leila Gyenesei (HUN)
  4. Laura Asadauskaite (LTU)
  5. Aya Medany (EGY)
  6. Sylvia Czwojdzinska (POL)
  7. Janine Kohlmann (GER)
  8. Elena Rublevska (LAT)
  9. Eva Trautmann (GER)
  10. Zsuzsanna Voros (HUN)
  11. Xiu Xiu (CHN)
  12. Freyja Prentise (GBR)
  13. Paulina Boeniszs (POL)
  14. Dong Lean (CHN)
  15. Svetlana Lebedeva (RUS)
  16. Sylvie Marcevova (CZE)
  17. Lavinia Bonessio (ITA)
  18. Soo Jin Yang (KOR)