Scott Jones Eliminated after First Round at the Paralympic Games

Sept. 08, 2008, 9:27 a.m. (ET)

(Colorado Springs, Colo.) - Scott Jones (Little Rock, Ark. / Little Rock Judo) was greeted by an enthusiastic crowd as he stepped onto the mat to begin judo competition at noon on Sunday at the Beijing Workers' Gymnasium & Stadium. In the third match on mat 2, the two-time Paralympian faced Oga Kenji in the first round, but lost by two waza-aris (half-point each) that equaled an ippon (instant win) which ended the match with only three seconds left on the clock. 

Jones, a 2005 Parapan American Champion, struggled with Kenji to get control of the grip throughout the match.  Jones took an early lead when Kenji was given a penalty that resulted in a koka (smallest points) score for Jones.

Then during the match, Jones started, but was unable to complete, a throw and fell to the side. The referee awarded a yuko (quarter-point) score to Kenji and, although a side judge waved off the call, the other side judge agreed and the score was awarded to Kenji.

Jones continued to fight hard offense against Kenji's defensive strategy. But at the end of the match, Kenji was leading by the yuko as well as a waza-ari score and Jones was running out of time.

"I shot for a double and didn't get it," Jones said.

Kenji then threw Jones for a second waza-ari and the match was called ippon with just three seconds left.

"He fought the whole time from a defensive posture, but he did better than I did today," Jones said.

Jones was prevented from advancing when Kenji lost against Isao Cruz (CUB)in the second round. The final day of judo competition will be held on Tuesday with four Americans competing at noon, including Andre Watson (Upper Darby, Pa. / Liberty Bell Judo / 90kg), Myles Porter (Colorado Springs, Colo. / USA Judo National Training Site at the Olympic Training Center), Greg DeWall (Chico, Calif. / Stanford Judo), and Jordan Mouton (Houston, Texas / Diamondback Judo)

Complete results are as follows:

Men's 73kg

1. Eduardo Avila (MEX)

2. Zhilin Xu (CHN)

3. Fabian Ramirez (ARG)

3. Sergii Sydorenko (UKR)

5. Matthias Krieger (GER)

5. Jorge Hierrezuelo (CUB)

7. Ramin Aliyev (AZE)

7. Mousa Pourabbas (IRI)

Men's 81kg

1. Isao Cruz (CUB)

2. Cyril Jonard (FRA)

3. Jorge Lencina (ARG)

3. Reinaldo Carvallo (VEN)

5. Seyed Amir Mirhassan (IRI)

5. Kenji Oga (JPN)

7. Oleksandr Pominov (UKR)

7. Natig Novruzzade (AZE)

Also Competed: Scott Jones (Little Rock, Ark. / Little Rock Judo), 0-1


Women's 57kg

1. Lijing Wang (CHN)

2. Ramona Brussig (GER)

3. Daniele Silva (BRA)

3. Maria Monica Merenciano (ESP)

5. Mounia Karkar (ALG)

5. Maria Keramida (GRE)

7. Ekaterina Buzmakova (RUS)

7. Duygu Cete (TUR)

Women's 63kg

1. Naomi Soazo (VEN)

2. Marta Arce (ESP)

3. Angelique Quessandier (FRA)

3. Madina Kazakova (RUS)

5. Elvira Kivi (SWE)

5. Qian Zhou (CHN)

7. Kannika Aimthisung (THA)

7. Khashtsetseg Batsukh (MGL)