Jeanette Rodriguez and Angelica Delgado Win Bronze at the Finnish Open

Nov. 09, 2008, 8:20 p.m. (ET)

(Colorado Springs, Colo.) - Jeanette Rodriguez (Coral Springs, Fla.) and Angelica Delgado (Miami, Fla.), both of the USA Judo National Training Site at North Miami, each won a bronze medal in the 52kg and 57kg divisions, respectively, on Sunday at the B-Level Finnish Open in Vantaa.

Competing in just her second international event in the 52kg division, former 48kg Pan Am Games medalist Rodriguez came back from a first-round loss by a waza-ari (half-point) to eventual champion Sophie Johnstone (GBR) to place third in the division.

After dropping down to the repechage, Rodriguez won both of her matches by ippon (instant win), first defeating Rikke Berg (DEN) and then Nina Gustafsson (SWE) in the bronze medal match.

Delgado won her first match against Hanna Limatta (FIN) by ippon, but lost by a koka (smallest points) in the quarter-finals to Jennie Andreason (SWE).

In the repechage, Delgado defeated Rebecca Davidson (GBR) and Pinja Hatuanen (FIN), both by yuko (quarter-point) scores, to win the bronze medal.

Complete results are as follows:

Women's 52kg
1. Sophie Johnstone (GBR)
2. Katarina Tsirkina (EST)
3. Sanna Askelof (NOR)
3. Jeanette Rodriguez (Coral Springs, Fla. / USA Judo National Training Site at North Miami)
5. Tomoko Mori (CAN)
5. Nina Gustafsson (SWE)
Women's 57kg
1. Julia Bezko (EST)
2. Satu Lehikoinen (FIN)
3. Angelica Delgado (Miami, Fla. / USA Judo National Training Site at North Miami)
3. Linsy Verhagen (NED)
5. Pinja Hautanen (FIN)
5. Jennie Andreason (SWE)
Women's 63kg
1. Johanna Ylinen (FIN)
2. Emilie-Claude Leroux (CAN)
3. Jennie Bonsant (CAN)
3. Marit De Gier (NED)
5. Riia Turpela (FIN)
5. Hanna Smolka (POL)
Men's 66kg
1. Colin Oates (GBR)
2. Diogo Cesar (POR)
3. Jean-Philippe Gagnon (CAN)
3. Niko-Tapio Niemela (FIN)
5. Atti Rintamaki (FIN)
5. Philippe Reis (POR)
Men's 81kg
1. Kalem Kachur (CAN)
2. Thomas Iburg (DEN)
3. Conny Isgren (SWE)
3. Mika Toroi (FIN)
5. Samuli Havas (FIN)
5. Denis Leider (LUX)
Men's 100kg
1. Jean Dominique Van Bever (FRA)
2. Vladimirs Osnaches (LAT)
3. Joonas Lammasniemi (FIN)
3. Zviadi Gogochuri (GEO)