USA Field Hockey Weekly Report

July 01, 2014, 4:04 p.m. (ET)

USA Field Hockey Weekly Report - Week of June 30, 2014

2014 National Futures Championship a Clear Success
Our prestigious National Futures Championship (NFC) was held at the Home of Hockey in Lancaster, Pa. and closes tomorrow. The Futures athletes came to the pitch with impeccable skill and a hunger to play. Observing from the sideline, it’s clear to tell the talent here is that which will someday represent the United States.

USA Field Hockey and Spooky Nook Sports assessed your suggestions from the 2014 National Indoor Tournament survey regarding the new facility venue and tournament layout. We were able to implement the bigger tweaks to deliver an exceptional event. Your insight was valuable and we appreciate the time you took to express your thoughts. 

Also during this event, we transitioned from print to digital programs which were received well by coaches, players and parents alike. We’ll continue this movement going forth into our next event National Club Championship in Lancaster, Pa. 

Our tournament team and Futures gurus Caitie Tornes and Chelsea Mitchell did a phenomenal job. The array of responsibilities and hats they juggle are numerous. Together they executed each with precision. The veteran assistance of Karen Collins, Liz Tchou, Steve Horgan, Simon Hoskins, Kaitlin Piosa and Simone Attles also oversaw NFC as well. We value the hard work of our staff and contracted workers across the board.

Bullet Points from the Board of Directors Meeting
Over this past weekend, the USA Field Hockey Board of Directors met at the Spooky Nook Sports complex in Lancaster, Pa. at the Home of Hockey. The vote from the recent referendum addressed to USA Field Hockey voting members was reviewed and the Board based resolutions all passed. The end effect will bring the bylaws and Articles of Incorporation of the association into compliance by allowing the Board to make adjustments. The Board will review the entire bylaw set to be sure they are contemporary and cover the proper governance needs of the organization. The Board is also reviewing the contract with Spooky Nook Sports, Home of Hockey; dealing with the potential of replacing the turf in the Chula Vista Olympic Training Center. It covered numerous committee reports and learned further of the newly established trusteeship for the USA Field Hockey Foundation (a group which also met at Spooky Nook Sports during the weekend). The minutes from the Board meeting will be posted on the USA Field Hockey website in the next 30 days. 

Acknowledging Hockey Heroes
At the Hall of Fame ceremony, which took place at the Home of Hockey, we celebrated the true champions of our sport who have vastly dedicated their efforts to grow field hockey nationally and in turn, on the global scale as well. Their legacy lives on in our young athletes as well as our top-tier National Team members. 

With the last induction class occurring in 1994, the Hall of Fame had numerous deserving individuals nominated for the prestigious recognition. Through a rigorous selection process, six outstanding field hockey phenoms and the first-ever team were inducted into the Hall of Fame: Pam Bustin, Tracey Fuchs, Katie Kauffman Beach, Kate “Tiki” Kinnear, Jill Reeve, Nigel Traverso and the 1984 U.S. Women’s Olympic Bronze Medal Team. Five individuals were also honored as Honorary Members: Tom Harris, Pam Hixon, Steve Jennings, Linda Kreiser and Sharon Taylor.

The 2014 class of inductees included the first-ever male award-winner in Nigel Traverso for the Hall of Fame and long-time field hockey enthusiasts Tom Harris and Steve Jennings for Honorary Membership.

Again, our immense gratitude goes out to all. 

Hall of Fame Inductees:

Gwen Cheeseman Alexander
Beth Anders
Ruth Heller Aucott
Beth Beglin
Adele Boyd
Robin Cash
Gertrude Dunn
Frances Elliott
Vonnie Gros
Mary Ann Leight Harris
Sheryl Johnson
Anita Corl Huntsman
Jill Grant Lindenfeld
Leslie Lyness
Phyllis Stadler Lyon
Laurel Hershey Martin
Barbara Marois
Chris Larson Mason
Betty C. Miller
Charlene Morett
Christy Morgan
Joan Moser
Patricia Kenworthy Nuckols
Marcia Pankratz
Eleanore Pepper
Marcy Place
Chickie Geraci Poisson
F. Elizabeth Richey
Alison Hersey Risch
Nancy Sawin
Patricia Shea
Betty Shellenberger
Karen C. Shelton
Julie Staver
Barbara Strebeigh
Joan Edenborn Stiles
Pam Neiss Stuper
Bonnie Smith Taylor
Anne B. Townsend
Anne McConaghie Volp
Alice Putnam Willetts

Honorary Membership Inductees
Helen G. Armfield
Hilda Burr
H. Crawhall-Wilson
Gertrude East
Nan Hunt
G.M. Inglis
Sophie Pearson
Cecily Warner  
Helen Ferguson
Constance M. K. Applebee
Mrs. Edward B. Krumbhaar
Cynthia Wesson
Anne B. Townsend
W. A. Baumann
Hilda Light
Edith Thompson
Gertrude Hooper
Anne G. Toomey
May P. Fogg
Sylvia Hoffa
Helen Bina
Barbara Strebeigh
Anne Le Delano
Frances Pierce
Elizabeth Burger Jackson
Anna Espenschade
Alfreda Mosscrop
Marion Pettit
Bessis Rudd
Betty Richey
Harriet Walton
Marjorie Strang
Betty Shellenberger
Joyce Cran Barry
Ethlyn A. Davis
Frances Homer
Harriet H. Rogers
Sophie Dickson
Frances Blomfield
Ethel Kloberg
Nancy Sawin
Elizabeth Cooper
Grace Robertson
Bess Taylor
Carol Haussermann
Elizabeth Williams
Audrey Erickson
Jen Shillingford
Jackie Westervelt
Phyllis Weikert
Anne LeDuc
Bea Toner
Sally Wilkins
Ellen Hawver
Bev Johnson
Pat Hayes
Ruth Lajoie
Leslie Milne

Ignite your dreams with Olympic Youth Camps
This August, Men’s and Women’s National Team athletes are hitting the road and coming to communities near you to coach USA Field Hockey Olympic Youth Camps. Olympic Youth Camps are designed to teach boys and girls 7-13 the fundamentals of field hockey in a fun environment with some of the top players in the country. Don’t miss your chance to learn from the best of the U.S., register for a camp today!

Jimmy Kimmel Live: “We're now down to the final 38 weeks of the World Cup.”

Have a great week!

Steven Locke
USA Field Hockey
Executive Director