U14 National Club Championship Teams Announced

Feb. 19, 2014, 11:03 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO – February 19, 2014 – USA Field Hockey announced today the teams invited to attend the 2014 U-14 National Club Championship held July 10-13 in Lancaster, PA. The top four finishers from 2013 will be invited back to compete at the elite event along with the top twelve ranked U-14 programs in the country.

Aim, MO
Bluegrass Premier, KY
Freedom HKY, MD
Jersey Intensity, NJ
Mystx, PA
North East Elite, NH
Oranje-Gottaloveit!, DE
Potomac, VA
Saints Hockey Rocks, VA
Spirit of USA, NJ
Stealth, KY
The Edge, NJ
WC Eagles, PA
Xcalibur, PA

“These 16 clubs have proved their competitive nature in past tournaments and we are excited for the enthusiasm and skill they will bring to the National Club Championships in 2014,” said Kathryn Manderino, USA Field Hockey’s Membership and Events Coordinator.

The U-14 ranking points were derived from results of the 2012 and 2013 Disney Jr. Classic (formerly the Disney Jr. Showcase), National Club Championship and the National Hockey Festival. The ranking system follows the same points system in place for the U-19 and U-16 age groups.

For 2015 and onwards, USA Field Hockey will explore Regional Club Championships being added to the U-14 tournament. “We have had a good amount of feedback from USA Field Hockey member clubs that there is building momentum for the U-14 division to also have regional qualifiers and we will spend the coming months getting input from all constituents within the game to be sure this is the right decision at the right time”, commented Simon Hoskins, USA Field Hockey’s Chief Operating Officer.

The National Club Championship inaugurated in 2011 and consists of the top 16 club teams in the country. In 2012, Regional Club Championships were put in place in the U-19 and U-16 divisions to provide a competition structure in which the best club teams from regions throughout the country are vying for the championship title. The inaugural U-14 National Club Championship was in 2012.