US Junior Womens Indoor Announces 2014 U16 and U19 Squads

April 01, 2014, 6:44 p.m. (ET)
U.S. Junior Women’s Indoor Announces 2014 U16 and U19 Squads

U.S. Junior Indoor Selections were conducted Saturday, March 15 in Broomall, Pa. More than 140 athletes attended the try-out for the junior squads. Selected athletes will train year round to develop their indoor skills and tactical knowledge of International Indoor Hockey. Selected athletes will also have the chance to be chosen for international and domestic competition teams during the 2014-2015 Winter season.

This year's junior squads feature 14 veterans and 11 new members. Additional members may be announced once waivers and callbacks are completed.

 “I would like to thank all the athletes, umpires and selectors for their participation and support of the 2014-15 U.S. Junior indoor try-out,” said U.S. Women's Indoor Coach Rennie Milne. “It was pleasing to see so many young hockey players aspiring to represent their nation in the indoor game, long may this continue. We have identified new potential for the U16 and U19 squads.  I am very much looking forward to working with our returning and new athletes in season 2014-15.”

The following athletes have been named to the 2014-2015 U19 National Indoor Team:

Jennifer Bleakney (Columbia, Md.); Emily Braunewell (Ambler, Pa.); Mayv Clune (Quakertown, Pa.); Megan DuVernois (Collegeville, Pa.); Ashley Dykema (Newport News, Va.); Selena Garzio (McAdoo, Pa.); Cassidy Goodwin (Hayes, Va.); Fusine Govaert (Rye, N.Y.); Abby Julius (Hummelstown, Pa.); Carly Kauffman (Fleetwood, Pa.); Sammy Popper (Blue Bell, Pa.); Meredith Sholder (Alburtis, Pa.); Samantha Steele (Eagleville, Pa.); Cassie Sumfest (Lewisburg, Pa.); Brigid Wood (Plains, Pa.); Corinne Zanolli (Newtown Square, Pa.)


The following athletes have been named to the 2014-2015 U16 National Indoor Team:

Gabrielle Barraco (Allentown, Pa.); Bethany Dykema (Newport News, Va.); Nathalie Friedman (Phoenix, Md.); Margot Lawn (Pasadena, Md.); Abigail Pitcairn (Aspinwall, Pa.); Elizabeth Romano (New Vernon, N.J.); Ava Rosati (Lower Gwynedd, Pa.); Grace Royer (Schnecksville, Pa.); Eleanor Winants (Hamilton, Va.)