Team USA Achieves 2014 World Cup Qualification

Sept. 30, 2013, 9:02 a.m. (ET)

USA lands a place at Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014

Results at women’s Asia & Pan American Cups confirms latest teams for The Hague

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) is delighted to confirm that the U.S. Women’s National Team has become one of the latest qualifiers for next year’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup in The Hague, Netherlands.

The news comes following the completion of the women’s continental championships that have been taking place in Pan America (Mendoza, ARG) and Asia (Kuala Lumpur, MAS) where Japan also earned placement. 

Like all of the continental championships, the big prize on offer both at the Pan American and Asian Cups was direct qualification for next year’s showpiece event at The Hague’s hugely impressive 15,000-seat Kyocera Stadium. 

Japan and Team USA become the ninth and tenth women’s teams to qualify the 2014 Rabobank Hockey World Cup, with two more places up for grabs at the Oceania and African continental championships. The men’s and women’s Africa Cup of Nations tournament was scheduled to take place this week in Nairobi, but has been postponed due to the tragic events surrounding the terrorist incident in the Kenyan capital.  

More information about the women’s World Cup qualifiers and the qualifying process can be found below.

Rabobank Hockey World Cup – Women’s Qualifiers.

Netherlands: Hosts
Germany:  Continental Champions Europe
Japan: Continental Champions Asia
Australia: 1st place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final,  London (ENG) 
England: 2nd place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final,  London (ENG)
Argentina:  3rd place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final,  London (ENG)
Korea: 3rd place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED)
New Zealand: 4th place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED) *
China: 4th place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final, London (ENG) **
USA: 5th place – Investec Hockey World League Semi-Final, London (ENG) ***

* Netherlands finished second in the Hockey World League Semi-Final event in Rotterdam.  As they are already pre-qualified as the host, this means that the highest ranked fourth place finisher from both Semi-Final events earns direct qualification to the Rabobank Hockey World Cup. This place goes to New Zealand, who were fourth in Rotterdam and currently sit third in the FIH World Rankings. 
** China qualified as first reserve courtesy of Germany’s victory in the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships.
*** With second reserves Japan and the already qualified Argentina winning the respective continental championships in Asia and Pan America, the World Cup ticket was handed to third reserves USA.

World Cup Qualification - The Next Stage
The remaining places at the Rabobank Hockey World Cup for men will be filled by the winners of the final two continental championships. However, if any of the above listed teams also becomes continental champion it will open the door to the team that finished outside the top three at the Hockey World League Semi-Finals that has not yet qualified for the World Cup. This team can be found below.    

Belgium: 6th in Rotterdam / 4th reserve for World Cup

About the International Hockey Federation (FIH)

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) is the world governing body for the sport of hockey, recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). Founded in 1924, FIH today has 127 member National Associations. For further information about FIH, please visit us at: