U.S. U19 Junior National Travel Squad Named

Feb. 08, 2013, 3:41 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Today, USA Field Hockey announced the names of the athletes selected to the tour with the U.S. Under-19 Junior National Squad in 2013. 

The selection process began last summer at the 2012 National Futures Championship and Futures Elite Championship. In total, 102 athletes were selected from both events to attend the Junior National Camp, presented by Longstreth, and held at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, July 9-12. At the camp, athletes received daily tactical sessions from some of the top field hockey coaches in the country, followed by test matches in the evening.  

From the Junior National Camp, a select number of athletes were invited to attend a winter training camp at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Cali. Following the winter training camp, eighteen under-17 athletes and eighteen under-19 athletes were selected to represent the U.S. Junior National Squads on an international tour this spring. 

The following athletes have been selected to the U.S. Under-19 Junior National Travel Squad: Kristy Bernatchez, Carly Celkos, Anna Dessoye, Casey Dinardo, Annabeth Donovan, Anya Gersoff, Jordyn Hamilton, Ashley Hoffman, Rebecca Holden, Alexa Mackintire, Gabby Major, Eryn McCoy, Emily McCoy, Jess Newak, Alyssa Parker, Moria Putsch, Tara Vittese, Alyssa Chillano. 

Megan Anstotz, Shannon Johnson, Alyssa Manley were named replacement athletes.