US U17 Junior Squad named for 2013

Feb. 04, 2013, 8:02 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Today, USA Field Hockey announced the names of the athletes selected to the tour with the U.S. Under-17 Junior National Squad this spring. 

The selection process began last summer at the 2012 National Futures Championship and Futures Elite Championship. In total, 102 athletes were selected from both events to attend the Junior National Camp, presented by Longstreth, and held at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, July 9-12. At the camp, athletes received daily tactical sessions from some of the top field hockey coaches in the country, followed by test matches in the evening.  

From the Junior National Camp, a select number of athletes were invited to attend a winter training camp at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Cali. Following the winter training camp, eighteen under-17 athletes were selected to represent the U.S. Junior National Squad on an international tour this spring. 

The following athletes have been selected to the U.S. Under-17 Junior National Travel Squad: Kelsey Bing, Morgan Bitting, Austyn Cuneo, Danielle Duseau, Sarah Furey, Linnea Gonzales, Rachel Hirsch, Laura Hurff, Ryan McCarthy, Sophia Miller, Kasandra Morano, Madison Morano, Karlee Spirit, Samantha Steele, Kaitlin Trombetta, Casey Umstead, Charlotte Vaziri, Elise Wong