U17 Junior Men's Squad to host Canada in Moorpark, CA

Nov. 29, 2012, 1:39 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The U.S. U-17 Junior Men’s Team will host Canada at Moorpark College in Moorpark, California, November 29-December 1 for a three game test series. For many on the U.S. squad, this series will be a first exposure to tactical coaching and hockey at the International level. 

“We are excited to give these players of the future an opportunity to experience international competition,” said Chris Clements, Men’s National Team Head Coach. “For a number of players, this series will be their first opportunity to represent their country and wear the red, white and blue. Having Ben Maruquin and Steve Danielson at the helm of this age group will greatly benefit the players and their development."

The young squad was identified from a Junior National Camp held over the summer, High Performance Centers as well as the “Calling All Boys” free clinics held in four locations across the country last month. 

“We found a number of raw talented players at the free boys clinics,” said Maruquin.

USA Field Hockey’s High Performance Centers are beginning to provide a platform to allow male athletes to develop starting as young as eight years of age.

“We are looking to increase the player base across the country and develop players earlier at the international level in the coming years. The boys clinics were a huge success and we will aim to target a more locations across the country in 2013.”

The matches are free and open to the community. Matches will be played on Thursday, November 29 at 2:00 p.m., Saturday, December 1 at 10:00 a.m. and Sunday, December 2 at 10:00 a.m. 

Follow the U.S. U-17 Men’s Team on usafieldhockey.com and @USAFieldHockey.

U.S. Roster: Doug Allison, Rishi Bhargava, Sean Cicchi, Jaspreet Gill, Hamzah Hashmi, Michael Hirsch, Graeme Jackson, Amar Khokar, Arshot Khokar, Jayce Lewis, Dominic Nishiguchi, Nathaniel O’Lari, Ajit Parmar, Keeling Pilaro, Nicholas Richardson, Prakash Sandhu, Josh Schindler, Supreet Shah, Hansraj Singh, Jacob Stone, Ben van Pelt, Casey Walker, Trent Warren, Shane Wolters, Ismael Zepeda