For a better browsing experience please switch your browser out of compatability mode.

USA Field Hockey

USA Women Defeat Belgium

Feb. 19, 2010, 10:21 a.m. (ET)

CORDOBA, Argentina - The USA Field Hockey Women's National Team defeated Belgium, 4-0, today as they continue their six-game test series in Argentina. Striker Katie O'Donnell scored a hat-trick.

The USA Women's Team is in preparations for the 2010 AtaHolding Women's World Cup Qualifier in San Diego, CA, scheduled for March 26 to April 3, 2010 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center at Chula Vista.

"Belgium is a good side," said Head Coach Lee Bodimeade. "They play hard. They have a different style, and coming off our series with the Netherlands and China we knew we had to play hard to beat them."

Belgium is one of five teams the USA will face at the 2010 AtaHolding Women's World Cup Qualifier. Canada, Mexico, Korea, and France will also participate.

"We wanted to show Belgium what they will be up against in four weeks," said Bodimeade.

Katie O'Donnell scored three goals to pace the United States.

"It's awesome," said O'Donnell. "I've been going through a bit of a scoring slump having not scored a senior goal since the 2005 Champions Challenge, so I feel proud for my team and myself for finally scoring!"

Rachel Dawson added a fourth goal on a penalty corner blast. Goalkeeper Jackie Kintzer, in her second international appearance, secured the shutout for the USA.

The USA will face Chile on Saturday, February 20, before closing out the test series against Argentina's Las Leonas on Sunday, February 21.

The USA next play on their own home field, hosting the 2010 AtaHolding Women's World Cup Qualifier at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, CA. The tournament champion will head to the BDO FIH 2010 Women's World Cup Rosario, Argentina in September.

Tickets to all games are now available. The AtaHolding Women's World Cup Qualifier features 18 matches over six days of competition. Half-price tickets can be purchased online for as little as $5.00 per person per day at Competition days feature three matches per day. Additional ticket promotions will be announced soon, including discounts for military personnel.

The AtaHolding Women's World Cup Qualifier is the largest senior international field hockey tournament to be held in the United States since the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta. USA Field Hockey hosted the 2009 BDO Women's Junior World Cup last August in Boston.

Nine teams have already automatically qualified for the 2010 BDO Women's World Cup. 18 other nations still have a chance to qualify through one of the three World Cup Qualifiers. The pools and locations for three Qualifiers are:

AtaHolding World Cup Qualifier, San Diego CA, USA, Friday 26 March- Saturday 3 April 2010
USA, Korea, Belgium, Canada, France, Mexico

BDO World Cup Qualifier, Kazan, Russia, Saturday 17-Sunday 25 April 2010
Japan, Azerbaijan, Italy, Russia, Belarus, Wales

BDO World Cup Qualifier, Santiago, Chile, Saturday 24 April-Sunday 2 May 2010
Australia, Ireland, Chile, Malaysia, Scotland, Trinidad & Tobago

The qualification system for the BDO FIH World Cup women 2010 is similar to the one used for the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games and the Hero Honda FIH World Cup men 2010. Nine teams are directly qualified through the Continental Championships, while the remaining three vacancies will be filled from three separate qualification tournaments.
The format for the three World Cup Qualifiers is as it was for the Olympic Qualifiers: a six teams' single round robin competition with a final to decide which team will qualify.

The following teams are directly qualified for the BDO FIH World Cup women, to be played in Rosario, Argentina from 30 August-12 September 2010:
• Argentina (Host and Champion of the 3rd Women's Pan American Cup)
• South Africa (Champion of the Africa Cup of Nations, 2009)
• New Zealand (Champion of the 6th Women's Oceania Cup)
• Netherlands (Champion of the 9th Women's EuroHockey Nations Championship)
• Germany (Silver medalist of the 9th Women's EuroHockey Nations Championship)
• England (Bronze medalist of the 9th Women's EuroHockey Nations Championship)
• Spain (Fourth ranked team of the 9th Women's EuroHockey Nations Championship)
• China (Champion of the 7th Women's Asia Cup)
• India (Silver medalist of the 7th Women's Asia Cup)

For more information on the 2010 AtaHolding Women's World Cup Qualifier, visit