Self nomination period open for USCA Athletes Advisory Committee

By Terry Kolesar | March 11, 2014, 12 a.m. (ET)


Self-nomination period open for USCA Athletes Advisory Committee – March 10, 2014

Any eligible athletes interested in self-nominating for election to a two-year term on the USCA Athletes Advisory Committee (AAC) must submit a statement by March 31, 2014 (first business day three weeks after the conclusion of the most recent national championship). Self-nomination statements should be sent to Dawn Leurquin at The statement should include the following pieces of information:

  • How the candidate qualifies for election to the AAC (finish at Nationals, appearance at World Championships or Olympic Games)
  • Expected level of commitment
  •  Position Statement

In order to be an eligible athlete you must have finished in the top half of the field of the Men’s or Women’s National Curling Championship within the preceding two (2) years, or have represented the United States and actively competed in the Men’s or Women’s World Curling Championship or the Olympic Winter Games within the preceding ten (10) years, as measured from the date of the closing ceremonies of the qualifying event to the date of the election.

There are four (4) spots available, two men and two women, each with a term of two (2) years. Only one spot for each gender will be eligible to be a director on the USCA Board of Directors, as determined by the required 20 percent representation rule. The term for the newly-elected AAC members will begin at the conclusion of this year’s spring meeting due to the lateness of the National Championship in this year. 

At the conclusion of the self-nomination period, USCA staff will distribute a ballot electronically to all eligible athletes (as described above) and collect votes. Voting will be open until April 11, 2014, and results will be announced on the USCA website once the elected athletes are notified. 

If you have any questions about self-nominating, please contact Maureen Clark, AAC chairwoman, at If you have any questions about a submission or eligibility, please contact Dawn Leurquin at