Field set for 2014 Nationals presented by Labatt

By Terry Kolesar | Jan. 13, 2014, 12 a.m. (ET)
Jan. 13, 2014

Field set for 2014 Nationals in Philadelphia

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - The field is now set for the 2014 USA Curling National Championships presented by Labatt. 

The conclusion of the Challenge Round on Sunday night filled the field to 20 teams for the 2014 Nationals, which will be staged March 1-8 at the IceWorks Skating Complex in Aston, Pa.

2010 national champion Tyler George (Duluth, Minn.) led his team to an 8-4 win over Peter Stolt's rink to win one of the B bracket berths early in the day at the Four Seasons Curling Club in Blaine, Minn. Stolt would bounce back to win a Nationals spot from the C bracket later in the day when the team beat Mike Farbelow's rink, 12-6. Also qualifying out of the B side was Alex Leichter (Wayland, Mass.) as his team defeated 2007 national champion Todd Birr (Blaine, Minn.), 8-6. In the final game of the Challenge Round, 2003 national champion Eric Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.) defeated Birr's rink, 10-9.

In the women's event taking place at the Grafton Curling Club in Grafton, N.D., the local team skipped by Abigayle Lindgren (Grand Forks, N.D.) earned their first berth to the Women's National Championship. The team also is qualified to compete in the 2014 Junior Nationals, later this month in Seattle. Lindgren's team defeated Kim Wapola's Minnesota rink, 9-3, to advance out of the B bracket. Minnesota's Amy Lou Anderson defeated Sarah Anderson, 8-5, to win the other berth out of the B side. 

Sarah Anderson's rink, composed of four sisters, came back in the C event to win their second straight appearance at the women's Nationals. They defeated California's Davinna Kong rink, 9-6, to qualify to Philadelphia, the team's hometown. In the final game of the women's event, Em Good's Washington rink got past Wapola's team, 10-5, to fill the women's Nationals field to 10.

Final results, courtesy of USA Curling partner CurlingZone, can be viewed at 

The 2014 Women's World Championship will take place March 15-23 in St. John, New Brunswick, Canada. The 2014 Men's World Championship is scheduled March 29-April 6 in Beijing, China, marking the first time that China will host a world curling championship.

Teams qualified for the 2014 Nationals include:

Team A. Anderson: Amy Lou Anderson (Plymouth, Minn.), Megan Delaney (Minneapolis, Minn.), Theresa Hoffoss (Minneapolis, Minn.), Julie Smith (St. Paul, Minn.)

Team S. Anderson: Sarah Anderson (Broomall, Pa.), Courtney Slata (Aston, Pa.), Taylor Anderson (Broomall, Pa.), Emily Anderson (Broomall, Pa.)

Team Carlson: Alex Carlson (Wayzata, Minn.), Jamie Sinclair (Manotick, Ontario), Emilia Juocys (Rochester, Mich.), Sherri Schummer (St. Paul, Minn.)

Team George: Courtney George (St. Paul, Minn.), Aileen Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.), Amanda McLean (St. Paul, Minn.), Monica Walker (Brighton, Mass.)

Team Good: Em Good (Seattle), Elle LeBeau (Lynnwood, Wash.), Gabrielle Coleman (Mountain View, Calif.), Cynthia Eng-Dinsel (Kirkland, Wash.)

Team Lindgren: Abigayle Lindgren (Grand Forks, N.D.), Katie Sigurdson (Grand Forks, N.D.), Emily Lindgren (Grand Forks, N.D.), Kelsey Colwell (Fargo, N.D.), Madeline Shaft (Grand Forks, N.D.)
Team Maroldo: Caitlin Maroldo (Rochester, N.Y.), Rebecca Andrew (West Henrietta, N.Y.), Abigail Morrison (Falmouth, Mass.), Emily Walker (Sudbury, Mass.)

Team Potter: Cassie Potter (St. Paul, Minn.), Jamie Haskell (Bemidji, Minn.), Jackie Lemke (Medford, Wis.), Stephanie Sambor (White Bear Lake, Minn.)

Team Pottinger: Allison Pottinger (Eden Prairie, Minn.), Nicole Joraanstad (Verona, Wis.), Natalie Nicholson (Bemidji, Minn.), Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.)

Team Spatola: Nina Spatola (McFarland, Wis.), Becca Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), Tara Peterson (Eagan, Minn.), Sophie Brorson (Minneapolis, Minn.)

*The women's 2014 Olympic team qualified for the Nationals but has opted not to compete. 

Team Bonfoey: Joey Bonfoey (Duluth, Minn.), Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.), Paul Lyttle (Bothell, Wash.), Harold Rutan (Olympia, Wash.), Ted Trolson (Superior, Wis.)

Team Brown: Craig Brown (Madison, Wis.), Kroy Nernberger (Madison, Wis.), Matt Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), Jon Brunt (Portage, Wis.)

Team Clark: Brady Clark (Lynnwood, Wash.), Sean Beighton (Seattle), Greg Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska), Philip Tilker (Seattle)

Team E. Fenson: Eric Fenson, Josh Bahr, Jon Chandler, Mark Haluptzok (all of Bemidji, Minn.)

Team P. Fenson: Pete Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Shawn Rojeski (Chisholm, Minn.), Joe Polo (Duluth, Minn.), Ryan Brunt (Portage, Wis.)

Team George: Tyler George (Duluth, Minn.), Bill Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Dean Gemmell (Short Hills, N.J.), Martin Sather (Hastings-on-Hudson, N.Y.)

Team Leichter: Alex Leichter (Wayland, Mass.), Brandon Corbett (Rochester, N.Y.), Derek Corbett (Rochester, N.Y.), Jeff Pulli (Rochester, N.Y.)

Team McCormick: Heath McCormick (Sarnia, Ontario), Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.), Rich Ruohonen (Minneapolis, Minn.), Colin Hufman (Seattle)

Team Shuster: John Shuster (Duluth, Minn.), Jeff Isaacson (Gilbert, Minn.), Jared Zezel (Hibbing, Minn.), John Landsteiner (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Stolt: Peter Stolt (Plymouth, Minn.), Brad Caldwell (Andover, Minn.), Erik Ordway (Minneapolis, Minn.), Clayton Orvik (Minneapolis, Minn.)

The process to determine Team USA for the 2014 World Championships has been updated. USA's World Championship teams will be the men's and women's teams with the highest overall OOM points total at the conclusion of the 2014 USA Curling National Championships who have placed in the top three in their respective national championship. If there is a tie in points, the team placing highest among the top three at the Nationals will qualify as USA's World Championship team. To view the current OOM points, go to 

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomAmpd, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Sitrin, BalancePlus and The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, and is partnered with Hilton, United Airlines, RJM Licensing Inc., and CurlingZone.

Visit the USA Curling website at and connect with USA Curling on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Foursquare.


For more information: Terry Kolesar, USA Curling,, 715-344-1199, Ext. 202, or 608-338-9900 (cell).