2014 Club National Championships begin Saturday in Minnesota

By Terry Kolesar | Feb. 11, 2014, 12 a.m. (ET)
Feb. 11, 2014

2014 USA Curling Club national Championship begins Saturday in Minnesota

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - Twenty teams will hit the ice Saturday in Two Harbors, Minn., as the 10th USA Curling Club National Championships get underway at the Two Harbors Curling Club.

The Club Nationals championship begins at 3 p.m. CT Saturday. Ten men's and 10 women's teams will compete in a round robin to advance to next weekend's playoffs. Live scoring will be available via CurlingZone, USA Curling's online scoring partner for the championship season, and posted at www.usacurl.org. 

This year's field features teams with national championship experience. The Illinois men are led by the reigning senior national champion, Jeff Wright (Libertyville, Ill.), while Washington is skipped by multiple national champion Joel Larway (Lynnwood, Wash.).

On the women's side, Minnesota 1 is led by two-time Club Nationals champion Norma O'Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.), who also will head to Scotland in April to represent the U.S. at the World Senior Championships. North Dakota I is led by BethBohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.), who has won a medal at nearly every Club Nationals event she has competed in since 2005 when the event began.

Teams qualified to the Club Nationals via a regional playdown system. After the round robin concludes, the top four teams on each side will move on to the playoffs on Feb. 21. 

Here is a look at the field of 20 competing teams with hometowns: 

Men's teams:
Team Flippo/Alaska: Dave Flippo, Benjamin Phipps, Matthew Pring, Levi Piehl (all of Anchorage, Alaska)

Team Moir/Colorado: Phil Moir (Centennial, Colo.), Jason Sethi (Highlands Ranch, Colo.), Sean Stevinson (Arvada, Colo.), Evan Jaffe (Aurora, Colo.)

Team Roberts/Michigan: Chad Roberts (Ypsilanti, Mich.), Ben Levy (Ypsilanti, Mich.), Mark Hansell (Rochester Hills, Mich.), Mark McElwee (Dewitt, Mich.)

Team Bialek/Massachusetts: Peter Bialek (Billerica, Mass.), Adam Jacobson (Westborough, Mass.), Dan Naylor (Billerica, Mass.), Daniel Cho (Providence, R.I.)

Team Wright/Illinois: Jeff Wright (Libertyville, Ill.), Russ Armstrong (Lake Bluff, Ill.), Russ Brown (Lake Forest, Ill.), Steven Waters (Evanston, Ill.), Steve Wright (Chicago)

Team Stolt/Minnesota: Peter Stolt (Plymouth, Minn.), Brad Caldwell (Andover, Minn.), Cameron McLelland (Minneapolis, Minn.), Evan Jensen (Minneapolis, Minn.)

Team Smoltz/Oregon: Jim Smoltz (Cornelius, Ore.), Cory Fiendell (Hillsboro, Ore.), Eric Hemesath (Hillsboro, Ore.), Andrew Karsnia (Portland, Ore.)

Team Pengilly/North Dakota: David Pengilly, Jason Neutz, Dave Nelson, Greg Neutz (all of Bismarck, N.D.)

Team Larway/Washington: Joel Larway (Lynnwood, Wash.), Benj Guzman (Everett, Wash.), Peter Sommer (Carnation, Wash.), Chad Siefert (Seattle)

Team Day/Wisconsin: Steve Day (Madison, Wis.), Patrick Roe (Madison, Wis.), Richard Maskel (Green Bay, Wis.), Mark Hartman (Sun Prairie, Minn.)

Women's competing teams:   
Team Paine/Ohio: Jennifer Paine (Columbus, Ohio), Erica Chambers (Delaware, Ohio), Allison Dillinger (Columbus, Ohio), Karen Hamilton (Grove City, Ohio), Lisa Wolfe (Columbus, Ohio)

Team Drummie/Maryland: Ann Drummie (Washington, D.C.), Catherine Coslick (Vienna, Va.), Stacy Slette (Washington, D.C.), Paige Roberts (Annapolis, Md.)

Team O'Leary/Minnesota 1: Norma O'Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.), Jill Hansen (Duluth, Minn.), Patti Luke (Duluth, Minn.), Mary Shields (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Kraus/Minnesota 2: Jamie Kraus (Proctor, Minn.), Barb Payette (Duluth, Minn.), Bridgette Perrizo (Duluth, Minn.), Kerry Hadiaris (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Heuermann/Arizona: Tracy Heuermann (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Carol Ann Naso (Fountain Hills, Ariz.), Jane Rockstad (Phoenix), Megan Huler (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Jamie Heuermann (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Team Walsh/California: Sarah Walsh (Oakland, Calif.), Kimberly Chapin (San Francisco), Katie Mordarski (Berkeley, Calif.), Kate Gardiner (San Francisco)

Team Bohlman/North Dakota 1: Beth Bohlman (Grand Forks, N.D.), Amy Bushaw (Grand Forks, N.D.), Tanis Hastmann (East Grand Forks, Minn.), Gail Ingwalson (Grand Forks, N.D.), Jean Vorachek (Grand Forks, N.D.)

Team Podoll/North Dakota 2: Ann Podoll, Carmen Delaney, Madonna Fitzgerald, Patty Olesen (all of Fargo, N.D.)

Team Konno/Washington: Miyo Konno (Monroe, Wash.), Kristine Ikegami (Seattle), Claire Bonin (Seattle), Jiyoung Li (Lynnwood, Wash.), Mijung Wick (Brier, Wash.)

Team Karst/Wisconsin: Lori Karst (Madison, Wis.), Mary Parker (Madison, Wis.), Rebecca Reinhart (Monona, Wis.), Cynthia Rhyer (McFarland, Wis.)


USA Curling is sponsored by AtomAmpd, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Sitrin, BalancePlus and The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, and is partnered with Hilton, United Airlines, RJM Licensing Inc., and CurlingZone.

Visit the USA Curling website at www.usacurl.org and connect with USA Curling on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Foursquare.


For more information: Terry Kolesar, USA Curling, terry.kolesar@usacurl.org, 715-344-1199, Ext. 202, or 608-338-9900 (cell).