USCA elections take place as Board meets for first time since new bylaws adopted

Aug. 25, 2014, 12 a.m. (ET)
Aug. 25, 2014

USCA's board meets for first time since new bylaws adopted

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - The Board of Directors of the United States Curling Association (USCA) gathered last weekend in Boston for its first meeting since new bylaws were adopted by the Members of the association in April.

Among the actions taken by the new board was the election of Dave Carlson (Portage, Wis.) as chairman of the board. In addition, the board's five standing committee chairpersons were elected. They include Sean Silver (Chicago), chairman of the Audit/Finance Committee; Chris Sjue (Fargo, N.D.), chairman of the Human Resources Committee; Kent Beadle (Hudson, Wis.), chairman of the Judicial Committee; Michael Shalhoub (Scarsdale, N.Y.), chairman of the Ethics Committee; and Leland Rich (Fairbanks, Alaska), chairman of the Nominating/Governance Committee.

Also, Vic Huebner (Dobbs Ferry, N.Y.) was appointed treasurer and Gordon Maclean (Atlantic Mine, Mich.) was named secretary by Rick Patzke, USCA's interim chief executive officer and the board's interim secretary general.

"The individuals appointed to leadership positions in the USCA are a blend of new leaders and previously serving leaders," said Chairman David Carlson. "They reflect the nationwide interest and support for USA Curling. I am excited to work with them all as we strive to build the number one member supported curling organization in the world."

The full Board of Directors in place includes (length of term also noted):
Regional (member-elected) directors:
Alaska and At-Large regions: David Flippo (Anchorage, Alaska), 2016 
Grand National region: Jeff Hannon (Norwalk, Conn.), 2015; Gwen Krailo-Lyons (Nashua, N.H.), 2016
Great Lakes region: Courtney Schmidt (Gates Mills, Ohio), 2016
Illinois region: Sean Silver (Chicago), 2016
Mid America region: Scott Stevinson (Littleton, Colo.), 2016
Minnesota region: Cyndee Johnson (Proctor, Minn.), 2016; Nick Wellen (White Bear Township, Minn.), 2015
Mountain Pacific region: Nick Kitinski (Burbank, Calif.), 2015
North Dakota region: Chris Sjue (Fargo, N.D.), 2015
Washington region: James Pleasants (Seattle), 2015
Wisconsin region: Dave Carlson (Portage, Wis.), 2016; Rich Lepping (Madison, Wis.), 2015

Athletes' Advisory Council (AAC) elected members:
Craig Brown (Madison, Wis.)
Maureen Clark (Madison, Wis.)
Dean Gemmell (Short Hills, N.J.)
Allison Pottinger (Eden Prairie, Minn.)
Jared Zezel (Hibbing, Minn.)

United States Women's Curling Association (USWCA) elected member:
Jennifer Stannard (Stamford, Conn.), 2016*

In addition, the following USCA representatives to the World Curling Federation (WCF) have a voice but no vote during board actions: Leland Rich (Fairbanks, Alaska), Beau Welling (Greenville, S.C.) and Mark Swandby (Madison, Wis.). *[Stannard also is a USCA WCF rep but has full voice/vote control as the USWCA's representative to the board.]

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomAmpd, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, and BalancePlus, and is partnered with Hilton HHonors, United Airlines, RJM Licensing Inc., and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Kolesar, Director of Communications,, 715-344-1199 (office) or 608-338-9900 (mobile).