Four teams clinch playoff berths at Arena Nationals

By Terry Kolesar | July 19, 2013, 12 a.m. (ET)


July 19, 2013

Four teams clinch playoff berths at inaugural Arena Nationals in Fort Wayne

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – The second day of the 2013 Arena National Championships saw four teams clinch playoff berths after sweeping through the A brackets of the double knockout competition at the Canlan Ice Sports Arena in Fort Wayne, Ind.

The four-day national championship, featuring 19 men’s and 13 women’s teams from across the United States, will culminate on Sunday afternoon. Two women’s teams and two men’s teams have advanced to the playoffs so far, which leaves half of the playoff bracket complete.

The first team to qualify tonight was the Dallas-Fort Worth Curling Club squad led by Nick Myers (Mansfield, Texas) as they defeated Paul Ellarby’s rink from the Dakota Curling Club in Burnsville, Minn., 7-2. Joining the Texas group in the men’s semifinals is David Wiesen’s rink from the San Francisco Bay Area Curling Club. Wiesen’s team outlasted Garnet Eckstrand’s team from the Kalamazoo Curling Club, 7-4.

Liana Knott’s rink from Dallas-Fort Worth came back from a three-point deficit late in the game to defeat Anne Wiggins, 10-7, when the two-time U.S. senior champ missed her final shot of the game. Knott’s rink scored three points in the seventh end to tie the game. Also advancing to the playoffs is the Stephanie Senneker rink from Kalamazoo. Senneker’s team got past Darcy Ellarby’s rink from Minnesota, 7-6.

The road took an abrupt turn for several teams today as they were eliminated from playoff contention and will now play in the consolation event. To view the brackets, visit

The 2013 Arena Nationals action picks back up on Saturday morning at 7:30 a.m. ET. Six rounds of action will be played throughout Saturday to determine Sunday’s playoff field. The top two teams from the A Bracket face the remaining two teams from the B bracket in Sunday morning’s semifinals.

Game scores, 8:30 a.m. Friday: Walsh 9, Luckey 1 (women); Wheeler 9, Marshall 3 (men); Russell 8, Havercroft 6 (men); Parker 10, Cooke 9, extra end (men)

Game scores, 11:15 a.m. Friday: Tsamoutales 11, Hamm 3 (women); Freeman 7, Temple 5, extra end (women); Montgomery 11, Hopper 1 (women); Wiesen 8, Robinson 5 (men)

Game scores, 2:30 p.m. Friday: Walsh 11, Lampkins 2 (women); Eckstrand 7, Scholz 3 (men); Myers 8, Klein 1 (men); P. Ellarby 8, Fountain 3 (men)

Game scores, 5:15 p.m. Friday: Mendoza 12, Robinson 3 (men); Heck 7, Moir 4 (men); Wheeler 7, Dittberner 5 (men); Gallagher 13, Russell 5 (men)

Game scores, 8:30 p.m. Friday: Myers 7, P. Ellarby 2 (men); Wiesen 7, Eckstrand 4 (men); Knott 10, Wiggins 7 (women); Senneker 7, Ellarby 6 (women)

Playoff teams:

Team Knott, Dallas-Fort Worth (TX) Curling Club: Liana Knott (Lancaster, Texas), Allison Peterson (Dallas, Texas), Carolyn Stewart (Richardson, Texas), Carrie Scarlata (Richardson, Texas)

Team Senneker, Kalamazoo (Mich.) Curling Club: Stephanie Senneker (Perry, Mich.), Pamela Nelson (Kalamazoo, Mich.), Nicole Brinkmann Reeves (South Bend, Ind.), Krista Ragotzy (Kalamzoo, Mich.)

Team Myers, Dallas/Fort Worth (Texas) Curling Club: Nick Myers (Mansfield, Texas), Jeffrey Knott (Lancaster, Texas), Stephen Kleppe (Denton, Texas), John Lambert (Frisco, Texas)

Team Wiesen, San Francisco Bay Area (Calif.) Curling Club: David Wiesen (San Francisco, Calif.), Alex Baxter (Oakland, Calif.), Brian Davidson (Walnut Creek, Calif.), Matthew Dance (San Francisco, Calif.)

Live scoring and webstreaming are available throughout the competition courtesy of USA Curling’s partners CurlingZone, 12th End Sports Network, and the U.S. Olympic Committee. Visit and follow the links to the Arena National Championships to view the brackets and watch the live action.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomAmpd, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Sitrin, and The RAM Restaurant & Brewery and is partnered with Hilton, United Airlines, Ludus Tours, CurlingZone, and RJM Licensing, Inc.

Follow us on Facebook (search for USA Curling) and Twitter (@terry_usacurl). Be sure to visit the new USA Curling website at


For more information: Terry Kolesar, USA Curling,, 715‐344‐1199, Ext. 202, or 608‐338‐9900 (cell).