USA and China to play exhibition games

By Terry Kolesar | Aug. 02, 2013, 12 a.m. (ET)
Aug. 2, 2013

USA-China to scrimmage in Minnesota

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – Members of USA’s High Performance Program and China’s elite squad will compete in exhibition games on Aug. 10-11 in Blaine, Minn., as the teams prepare for the upcoming competitive season. 

USA Curling is conducting two High Performance camps for the teams qualified for the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team Trials, which will take place Nov. 10-17 in Fargo, N.D. The first camp is Aug. 9-11 and features four national squads led by reigning U.S. champions Brady Clark (Lynnwood, Wash.) and Erika Brown (Oakville, Ontario) as well as 2012 national champion Allison Pottinger (Eden Prairie, Minn.) and 2013 Nationals runner-up Courtney George (St. Paul, Minn.). 

The second camp will take place Aug. 23-25 and feature the remaining five squads including rinks skipped by Pete Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Tyler George (Duluth, Minn.), Heath McCormick (Sarnia, Ontario), John Shuster (Duluth, Minn.), and Cassie Potter (St. Paul, Minn.). The camps and the scrimmage will take place at the Four Seasons Curling Club at Fogerty Arena.

Two women’s squads from China, including 2009 world champion and 2010 Olympic bronze medalist Bingyu Wang, are in Blaine through Aug. 31 as part of a month-long training session at the year-round curling facility in Minnesota. The first scrimmage will take place at 7:30 p.m. on Aug. 10 and feature Team Brown. The second scrimmage will be at 9:30 a.m. on Sunday featuring Team Pottinger.

Media interested in attending the scrimmages, interviewing athletes and shooting B roll should reach out to Terry Kolesar, USA Curling,, 715?344?1199, Ext. 202, or 608?338?9900 (cell).

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomAmpd, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Sitrin, and The RAM Restaurant & Brewery and is partnered with Hilton, United Airlines, Ludus Tours, CurlingZone, and RJM Licensing, Inc. 

Follow us on Facebook (search for USA Curling) and Twitter (@terry_usacurl). Be sure to visit the new USA Curling website at 


Full team rosters:
Team Brown: Erika Brown (Oakville, Ontario), Debbie McCormick (Rio, Wis.), Jessica Schultz (Minneapolis, Minn.), Ann Swisshelm (Chicago)

Team George: Courtney George (St. Paul, Minn.), Aileen Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.), Amanda McLean (Duluth, Minn.), Monica Walker (Brighton, Mass.)

Team Potter: Cassie Potter (St. Paul, Minn.), Jamie Haskell (Bemidji, Minn.), Jackie Lemke (Medford, Wis.), Stephanie Sambor (Bismarck, N.D.)

Team Pottinger: Allison Pottinger (Eden Prairie, Minn.), Nicole Joraanstad (Verona, Wis.), Natalie Nicholson (Bemidji, Minn.), Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.)

Team Clark: Brady Clark (Seattle), Sean Beighton (Seattle), Darren Lehto (Seattle), Philip Tilker (Seattle), Greg Persinger (Fairbanks, Alaska)

Team Fenson: Pete Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.), Shawn Rojeski (Chisholm, Minn.), Joe Polo (Duluth, Minn.), Ryan Brunt (Bemidji, Minn.)

Team George: Tyler George (Proctor, Minn.), Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.), Rich Ruohonen (Minneapolis, Minn.), Colin Hufman (Seattle)

Team McCormick: Heath McCormick (Sarnia, Ontario), Bill Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Martin Sather (Hastings-on-Hudson, N.Y.), Dean Gemmell (Short Hills, N.J.)

Team Shuster: John Shuster (Duluth, Minn.), Jeff Isaacson (Gilbert, Minn.), Jared Zezel (Duluth, Minn.), John Landsteiner (Duluth, Minn.)