National Champs head to Cup

Jan. 05, 2012, 9:46 a.m. (ET)
2011 U.S. national champions Pete Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.) and Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.) will lead their teams next week at the 2012 World Financial Group Continental Cup of Curling.

To read the full press release, click on the PDF below.

 USA Curling

 Terry Kolesar

Jan. 6, 2012
National champions headed to 2012 Continental Cup
(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) – 2011U.S. national champions Pete Fenson (Bemidji, Minn.) and
Patti Lank (Lewiston,N.Y.) will lead theirteams next week atthe 2012World Financial
Group Continental Cup of Curling.
Seven‐time national champion Fenson isteamed up with fellow 2006Olympic bronze
medalists Shawn Rojeski(Chisholm, Minn.) and Joe Polo (Duluth, Minn.) as well as Ryan
Brunt(Bemidji, Minn.). Five‐timeU.S. national champion Lank willteamup withNina
Spatola (McFarland, Wis.), Caitlin Maroldo (Rochester,N.Y.) and 17‐year‐old Mackenzie
Lank (Lewiston,N.Y.). Both teams also are setto defend their nationaltitles atthe
upcoming 2012National Championshipsin February with the younger Lank also
competing in the 2012 JuniorNationalslaterthismonth.
The eighth edition ofthe Continental Cup willtake place Jan. 12‐15 atthe Langley Event
Centre in Langley, British Columbia, just outside of Vancouver. The Cup features Team
North America composed offour Canadian and the twoU.S.teamstaking on six ofthe
top European and Asian teamsrepresenting Team World in skins,mixed skins,singles,
mixed doubles, and teamcompetitions during the four‐day event.
Each discipline is weighted with pointsthe two sides can earn. The firstto reach 201
pointsis declared the winner. The event began in 2002 in Regina, Saskatchewan, with all
subsequent eventstaking place in Canada as well.North America holds a 4‐3 advantage
over Team World aftertheir dominating Cup win in 2011 in St. Albert, Alberta. This year,
the winning side will earn $52,000 in prizemoney with the losing teamreceiving
$26,000 divided amongstthe athletes, captains and coaches. An additional $13,000 will
go to the winning side ofthe finalmen’sskins game.
The American rinks will partner with Canadian teamsled by 2011 national champions
AmberHolland and Jeff Stoughton as well as 2007 world championGlennHoward and
Stefanie Lawton.North America’s captain will be former world champion Julie Skinner of
Victoria, British Columbia, while two‐time world champion Rick Lang of Thunder Bay will
return as coach.
Representing Team World will be rinksskipped by reigning world champion Anette
Norberg of Sweden; 2010Olympic bronzemedalist Bingyu Wang of China; Scotland’s
Eve Muirhead; 2010Olympic silvermedalist ThomasUlsrud ofNorway;Niklas Edin of
Sweden and Scotland’s TomBrewster. The captain for Team World will be Scotland’s
DavidHay, anotherformer world champion, while Sweden’s Peja Lindholm, a three‐time
world champion,returns as coach.The opening ceremonies are setfor 8:30 p.m. Wednesday with the competition getting
underway at 8:30 a.m. Thursday featuring women’steamcompetition.
Thisisthe third Cup appearance for Lank (champion in 2004 and 2002),second for
Spatola (champion in 2011), and firstfor Maroldo and Mackenzie Lank. Forthe
Americanmen,thisisthe fourth appearance for Fenson and Rojeski(championsin 2011
and runner‐up in 2006 and 2003);third for Polo (champion in 2011,runner‐up in 2006);
and second for Brunt(champion in 2011).
Visit find outmore.
USA Curling issponsored by AtomAmpd, BroomsUp Curling Supplies, RAM Restaurant&
Brewery andNike, and is partnered with CurlingZone.
Formore information: Terry Kolesar,USA Curling,, 715‐344‐
1199, Ext. 202, or 608‐338‐9900 (cell).