2010 Senior Nationals underway in Portage and Cape Cod

Jan. 29, 2010, 10:50 a.m. (ET)

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - Fourteen teams are competing for the right to wear USA on their backs at the upcoming World Senior Championships as the 2010 USA Curling Senior National Championships gets underway.

The Portage Curling Club in Portage, Wis., is hosting the 12 men's teams while the Cape Cod Curling Club in Falmouth, Mass., will be the site for the women's playdown, which features two teams - defending champion Sharon Vukich (Seattle) and Mary Colacchio (East Falmouth, Mass.).

The men's action got underway Thursday afternoon. Getting off to fast starts were teams skipped by Stuart Graves (Pembroke, Mass.), George Godfrey (Baraboo, Wis.), Scott Edie (Middletown, Md.), Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.) and Mike Fraboni (McFarland, Wis.).

Graves and teammates Paul Sofuolis (Dover, Mass.), Douglas Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.) and Tony Steiert (Gilbertsville, Pa.) moved to 2-0 with a 6-3 win over the defending champions skipped by Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.). Earlier in the day, Graves defeated Minnesotan Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.), 7-4. Also getting off to a 2-0 start is former senior champion Godfrey. He led his team of Timothy Ebert (Fitchburg, Wis.), Walter Erbach (Madison, Wis.) and Mark Hartman (Sun Prairier, Wis.) to a 6-2 win over Philip Devore of Superior, Wis., and a 3-1 defeat of Sormunen.

In Pool B action, one round of competition took place yesterday. Edie and teammates Gert Messing (Hartsdale, N.Y.), Bill Peskoff (Glen Gardner, N.J.) and Dave Palazzoli (Clinton, N.Y.) got past Mark Arnold's Minnesota tam, 6-4. Geoff Goodland, the 2007 senior champion, defeated Lionel Locke of St. Paul, Minn., 8-6. Mike Fraboni, the 2008 champion, earned a 7-5 victory against Walter Ehlert's team from Pardeeville, Wis.

The men's round robin continues today with draws at 9 a.m, 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. The women's action gets underway this afternoon. It is a best three-out-of-five competition.

The 2010 World Seniors will take place April 15-24 in Chelyabinsk, Russia, coinciding with the 2010 World Mixed Doubles Championship, which was won by Vukich. She's hoping to compete in both events.



Pool A:

Stuart Graves (Pembroke, Mass.) 2-0

George Godfrey (Baraboo, Wis.) 2-0

Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.) 1-1

Phil DeVore (Superior, Wis.) 0-1

Bob Daly (Pardeeville, Wis.) 0-1

Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.) 0-2


Pool B:

Scott Edie (Middletown, Md.) 1-0

Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.) 1-0

Mike Fraboni (McFarland, Wis.) 1-0

Lionel Locke (St. Paul, Minn.) 0-1

Mark Arnold (St. Paul, Minn.) 0-1

Walter Ehlert (Pardeeville, Wis.) 0-1


Here is a look at the competing field for the 2010 U.S. Senior Nationals:

Women's field, competition to take place Jan. 29-31, Cape Cod, Mass.:

Team Colacchio: Mary Colacchio (East Falmouth, Mass.), Catherine Offinger (Falmouth, Mass.), Abigail Read (Appleton, Maine), Susan Verner (Mashpee, Mass.)

Team Vukich: Sharon Vukich (Seattle), Dani Thibodeaux (Kirkland, Wash.), Linda Cornfield (Seattle), Betty Kozai (Seattle), Coach David Cornfield (Seattle)


Men's field, competition to take place Jan. 27-31 in Portage, Wis.:

Team Arnold: Mark Arnold (St. Paul, Minn.), Merlin Orvik (Shoreview, Minn.), Mark Lusche (Washburn, Wis.), Keith Ostrosky (Mendota Heights, Minn.)

Team Daly: Bob Daly (Pardeeville, Wis.), Dan Brunt (Portage, Wis.), Harold Erdman (Portage, Wis.), Russ Schider (Pardeeville, Wis.)

Team DeVore: Philip DeVore (Superior, Wis.), Larry Sharp (Rice Lake, Wis.), Jeffrey Erickson (Proctor, Minn.), Bill Kind (Rice Lake, Wis.)

Team Edie: Scott Edie (Middletown, Md.), Gert Messing (Hartsdale, N.Y.), Bill Peskoff (Glen Gardner, N.J.), Dave Palazzoli (Clinton, N.Y.)

Team Ehlert: Walter Ehlert (Pardeeville, Wis.), Nathan Beer (Marseilles, Ill.), Randy Branton (Rio, Wis.), Scott Thompson (Rio, Wis.)

Team Fraboni: Mike Fraboni (McFarland, Wis.), Bill Rhyme (Green Bay, Wis.), David Russell (La Crosse, Wis.), John Bartlett (Madison, Wis.)

Team Godfrey: George Godfrey (Baraboo, Wis.), Timothy Ebert (Fitchburg, Wis.), Walter Erbach (Madison, Wis.), Mark Hartman (Sun Prairie, Wis.)

Team Goodland: Geoff Goodland (Eau Claire, Wis.), Pete Westberg (Naperville, Ill.), Tim Solin (Mahtomedi, Minn.), Ken Olson (Plymouth, Minn.)

Team Graves: Stuart Graves (Pembroke, Mass.), Paul Sofuolis (Dover, Mass.), R. Douglas Burchesky (Walpole, Mass.), Tony Steiert (Gilbertsville, Pa.)

Team Locke: Lionel Locke (St. Paul, Minn.), Dale Gibbs (Woodbury, Minn.), Timothy Doherty (St. Paul, Minn.), Jim Honsvall (Stillwater, Minn.)

Team Pustovar: Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.), Brian Simonson (Hibbing, Minn.), Tom Harms (Pengilly, Minn.), Don Mohawk (Nashwauk, Minn.), John Kokotovich (Hibbing, Minn.)

Team Sormunen: Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.), Ian Journeaux (Plover, Wis.), David Carlson (Portage, Wis.), Roger Hendrickson (Duluth, Minn.)


USA Curling is sponsored by AIT Worldwide Logistics, Laphroaig Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky, bitRail, Nike and Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown, and is partnered with CurlingZone.com.