Minnesota teams nearly flawless at 2010 Junior Nationals

Jan. 25, 2010, 12:15 p.m. (ET)

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - Three out of four of Minnesota's entries at the 2010 USA Curling Junior Nationals in Bemidji, Minn., remain flawless through four rounds of action.

Amanda Tucker's North Dakota team also is in the mix after a convincing 11-3 win tonight as well. Tucker's rink stole six points in the fifth end with their match-up with Laura Murphy from Massachusetts to improve to 2-0. After tying the game at 2-2, Tucker (St. Thomas, N.D.) and teammates Jesa Legacie (Edmore, N.D.), Rachel Tharalson (Hoople, N.D.) and Anna Hopkins (Bismarck, N.D.) book-ended the six-ender with three more points coming off of steals. Tucker is looking to improve upon the 3-6 record that befell her at last year's Junior Nationals. Legacie is playing for more than just a junior title - she's playing with a heavy heart after the loss of her father, Garland Legacie, longtime icemaker at the U.S. Junior Nationals and chief icemaker for USA Curling for many years. Legacie lost his battle with cancer in May 2009.

Minnesota II's Miranda Solem rink needed an extra end to stay in the three-way tie for first place with an 11-10 win over North Dakota II's Ann Podoll rink. Solem's team built a 9-2 lead after four ends only to watch the lead dissipate in the second half as Podoll's team stole three consecutive ends to force the extra end.

Alexandra Carlson's defending U.S. junior champions -- Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.), Tara Peterson (Eagan, Minn.) and Sophie Brorson (Duluth, Minn.) -- continued their steady play with an 11-5 defeat of New York's Katlyn Beebe.

Wisconsin I's Becca Hamilton rink got into the win column with a lopsided 8-1 win over Vicky Persinger's Alaska team in just six ends. Jillian Walker also earned a win tonight by besting Wisconsin II's Kimberly Rhyme rink, 8-4.

In men's action earlier today, Stephen Dropkin's Massachusetts team reeled off its second win with a 9-5 defeat of Erik Jensen's North Dakota squad. Washington's Sean Beighton and Minnesota II's Aaron Wald kept pace by posting wins for a three-way tie for the top spot. Both Wisconsin teams picked up victories to get in the win column as well. Tom Gabower (Janesville, Wis.) bested Minnesota's state champions led by Trevor Andrews, 6-5, by stealing the extra end. Blake Morton's Wisconsin I rink got off to a fast start against Illinois on the way to a 12-2 rout.

Four draws are on tap Monday at 8 a.m., noon, 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. The round robin continues through Thursday afternoon. The champions will be determined Saturday afternoon.

Game scores (women, 4 p.m.): Minnesota II 11, North Dakota II 10 (extra end); Wisconsin I 8, Alaska 1; North Dakota I 11, Massachusetts II 3; Massachusetts I 8, Wisconsin II 4; Minnesota I 11, New York 5

Game scores (men, noon): Wisconsin I 12, Illinois 2; Washington 7, New York 6; Wisconsin II 6, Minnesota I 5; Massachusetts 9, North Dakota 5; Minnesota II 10, Alaska 4


Women's standings:

Minnesota I (Carlson) 2-0

Minnesota II (Solem) 2-0

North Dakota I (Tucker) 2-0

Massachusetts I (Walker) 1-1

New York (Beebe) 1-1

North Dakota II (Podoll) 1-1

Wisconsin I (Hamilton) 1-1

Alaska (Persinger) 0-2

Massachusetts II (Murphy) 0-2

Wisconsin II (Rhyme) 0-2


Men's standings:

Massachusetts (Dropkin) 2-0

Minnesota II (Wald) 2-0

Washington (Beighton) 2-0

Minnesota I (Andrews) 1-1

New York (Corbett) 1-1

Wisconsin I (Morton) 1-1

Wisconsin II (Gabower) 1-1

Alaska (Birklid) 0-2

Illinois (Brown) 0-2

North Dakota (Jensen) 0-2


USA Curling is sponsored by AIT Worldwide Logistics, Nike, bitRail, Laphroaig Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky and is partnered with CurlingZone.