List of undefeated teams narrows at 2010 Junior Nationals

Jan. 25, 2010, 4:32 p.m. (ET)

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - The list of undefeated teams was cut in half as two more rounds of competition are in the books at the 2010 USA Curling Junior Nationals in Bemidji, Minn.

Keeping their records unblemished were Washington's Sean Beighton, Minnesota II's Aaron Wald and Minnesota I's Alexandra Carlson. Beighton (Edmonds, Wash.) and teammates Derrick Mclean (Bothell, Wash.), Sam Galey (Seattle) and Joe Purvis (Kenmore, Wash.) earned two points in the extra frame to knock of Wisconsin II's Tom Gabower rink to improve to 3-0 late last night. Beighton's team trailed until the ninth end when they hung three points on the scoreboard. Gabower was forced to a single in the 10th end, forcing the extra end of play.

Wald (Chisholm, Minn.) and teammates Josh Bahr (Bemidji, Minn.), Jared Zezel (Hibbing, Minn.) and John Muller (Hibbing) got past Matt Brown's Illinois team 6-4 to send Brown's team to its third straight loss. Alexandra Carlson's team needed an extra end this morning to keep their perfect record intact against Ann Podoll's North Dakota II rink. Podoll (Fargo, N.D.) and teammates Chrstina Lammers (Relies Acres, N.D.), Casey Hatlevoll (Fargo) and Vanessa Manlove (Fargo) stole two points in the 10th end but Carlson's defending champions scored one for the 7-6 win in the 11th.

Alaska's Vicky Persinger picked up her team's first win with a 9-3 defeat of New York's Katlyn Beebe. A big steal in the seventh end gave Persinger and her Fairbanks teammates Jennifer Taylor, Tina Persinger and Meredith Hazen the momentum they needed to earn the win. Jillian Walker's Massachusetts team also benefited from a key steal - two points in the 10th end to hand Amanda Tucker's North Dakota 1 rink its first defeat, 9-7.

Kimberly Rhyme's Wisconsin II rink also notched its first win - a 10-7 defeat of Minnesota II's Miranda Solem. Rhyme (Green Bay, Wis.) and teammates Erin Wallace (Green Bay), Chloe Pahl (Green Bay) and Susan Kawleski (Stevens Point, Wis.) fell behind early to Solem but used a pivotal seventh end in which the team scored three points to earn the win.

New York's Brandon Corbett rink also was on the receiving end of a late-game gift as he was able to earn a steal of one in the extra end against Alaska's Matt Birklid in last night's action. The win improves Corbett's team to 2-1. Erik Jensen's North Dakota squad posted its first victory of the tournament by knocking off last year's bronze medalists from Wisconsin, the Blake Morton rink, 8-5. Trevor Andrews improved to 2-1 as well with a 12-6 defeat of previously undefeated Stephen Dropkin of Massachusetts.

The action continues today with draws underway at noon, 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. The round robin continues through Thursday afternoon. The champions will be determined Saturday afternoon.

Game scores (women, 8 a.m.): Massachusetts I 9, North Dakota I 7; Minnesota I 7, North Dakota II 6 (extra end); Wisconsin II 10, Minnesota II 7; Alaska 9, New York 3; Wisconsin I 11, Massachusetts II 1

Game scores (men, 8 p.m.): Minnesota I 12, Massachusetts 6; Minnesota II 6, Illinois 4; North Dakota 8, Wisconsin I 5; New York 6, Alaska 5 (extra end); Washington 7, Wisconsin II 5


Women's standings:

Minnesota I (Carlson) 3-0

Massachusetts I (Walker) 2-1

Minnesota II (Solem) 2-1

North Dakota I (Tucker) 2-1

Wisconsin I (Hamilton) 2-1

Alaska (Persinger) 1-2

New York (Beebe) 1-2

North Dakota II (Podoll) 1-2

Wisconsin II (Rhyme) 1-2

Massachusetts II (Murphy) 0-3


Men's standings:

Minnesota II (Wald) 3-0

Washington (Beighton) 3-0

Massachusetts (Dropkin) 2-1

Minnesota I (Andrews) 2-1

New York (Corbett) 2-1

North Dakota (Jensen) 1-2

Wisconsin I (Morton) 1-2

Wisconsin II (Gabower) 1-2

Alaska (Birklid) 0-3

Illinois (Brown) 0-3


USA Curling is sponsored by AIT Worldwide Logistics, Nike, bitRail, Laphroaig Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky and is partnered with CurlingZone.