2009 U.S. Mixed Championship gets underway Saturday in Wisconsin

March 17, 2009, 1:04 p.m. (ET)
STEVENS POINT, Wis. - The four-sheet Medford Curling Club in Medford, Wis., will host the 2009 U.S. Mixed National Championship. The action gets underway Saturday featuring 10 teams from across the U.S.

Teams qualified for the national championship by winning their respective regional events. Regions not fielding teams subsequently awarded multiple berths to those areas with the most registered teams. The mixed championship features teams composed of two men and two women, throwing alternately.

The first round of action begins at 1 p.m. Sunday. Teams will practice on Saturday at the club followed by a team meeting.

In this year's field are the five-time mixed champions from the Granite Curling Club in Seattle, led by Brady Clark (Lynnwood, Wash.). The hometown team of Ryan Lemke (Medford, Wis.) was runner-up at last year's event in Detroit. Veterans Russ Armstrong (Highwood, Ill.) and Robb Borland (Kent, Ohio) also are in the field. The East Coast teams are laden with experience as well. Scott Edie (Middletown, Ohio) is making his fifth appearance. He won silver in 2006 and bronze in 2007. Derek Surka (New Haven, Conn.) also is making his fifth appearance.

Here is a look at the full field of competitors with hometowns listed in parentheses:

Arizona (Coyotes Curling Club): Fred Maxie (Phoenix), Anne Stuhlman (New Hartford, N.Y.). Richard Maskel (Green Bay, Wis.), Carol Ann Naso (Fountain Hills, Ariz.)

Connecticut (Nutmeg Curling Club): Derek Surka (New Haven, Conn.), Charrissa Lin (New Haven, Conn.), Sean Murray (Edgewood, Md.), Rachel Sethi (Falls Church, Md.)

Illinois: Russ Armstrong (Highwood, Ill.), Amy Brown (Deerfield, Ill.), Ken Brown (Deerfield, Ill.), Leslie Earls (Lake Bluff, Ill.)

Maryland (Potomac Curling Club): Scott Edie (Middletown, Md.), Tanya Jacobsen (Silver Spring, Md.), Conor Mulvey (North Bethesda, Md.), Jennifer Kungle (Columbia, Md.)

Minnesota (St. Paul Curling Club): Peter Stolt (Plymouth, Minn.), Maureen Stolt (Plymouth, Minn.), Tim Jeanetta (Elk River, Minn.), Brenda Jeanetta (Elk River, Minn.)

North Dakota I (Fargo-Moorhead Curling Club): Al Gulseth (Moorhead, Minn.), Michelle Wagner (Fargo, N.D.), Mark Gulseth (Aberdeen, S.D.), Amelia Pirkl (Fargo, N.D.)

North Dakota II (Capital Curling Club): Dan Buresh, Corrina Stroh, Todd Ussatis, Roxanne Howes (all of Bismarck, N.D.)

Ohio (Curling Club): Robb Borland (Kent, Ohio), Else Festersen (Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio), Matthew Dolloff (Brooklyn, Ohio), Sigrid Festersen (Omaha, Neb.)

Washington (Granite Curling Club): Brady Clark (Lynnwood, Wash.), Cristin Clark (Lynnwood, Wash.), Philip Tilker (Seattle), Beverly Walter (Seattle)

Wisconsin (Medford Curling Club): Ryan Lemke (Medford, Wis.), Jackie Lemke (Medford), Kroy Nernberger (Madison, Wis.), Rebecca Wood (Madison), Jake Will (Madison)